rules question

KingCarom

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have a question about unintentional contact with another ball on the playing surface while pulling away from your shot.

Last night, playing locally at McCory's weekly tournament, I had two solids left on my run, I hit the 2 into the corner pocket and pull away from the shot, and as I lift I brushed the 7 1-2 inches. I had played the cue off two rails in the corner hard to get back up table to get shape on the 7, but the cue came up and hit it in the pocket after I had brushed it 1-2 inches.

BCA, APA rules say that after touching a ball, your opponent can replace it or let it ly, but what happenes if I touched a ball, then during the same shot the cue came around and hit it in?

Please dont answer unless you know for sure, I have heard enough speculation on this last night by the players husband and all the locals in a 5 mintue discussion before she received ball in hand. They called it a foul " in this tournament" and I accepted that, but I am still unsure.
 
in my league, which is based on apa rules, knocking in an object ball unintentionally is a foul, 8 ball is loss of game
 
BCA RUle 1.16.1 says about touching an object ball, "....and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, if the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul."

APA referees are similarly instructed. If the moved ball is struck by the cue ball, or would have been in the path of or struck by the cue ball, it is a foul.

HTH,

Walt in VA
 
Pooltablemech is correct. In most leagues, which play CB fouls only, moving an object ball unintentionally is not a foul. The opposing player can choose to move it back or not. This does not mean YOU can move it back for him before he chooses to move it. That's a foul (you can't intentionally move a ball without his permission - in this case, you have to ask first). Anyway, if a ball is moved and impedes the progress of another ball (the CB in your case), and another ball hits it, it's a foul. Whoever made the call in your case made the right call.

-djb
 
OK thanks guys, Just wanted to be sure. I looked around online for official rules, anyone have a link?
 
It is definately a foul and a good example of why every Tournament Director should have a copy of the BCA rules on site for all events. These situations can quickly be referenced and both players can move on, confident that the right decision has been made.

Harold Danielson
Tournament Director
 
lol this just happened at the tournament in shooters game was 9-ball.....Now the rule here is q-ball foul only and this guy didn't know wut it is he thinks there's only one 'rule' in 9-ball. Well wut happened was he called a foul the other guy said it wasn't so to prove that the guy who called foul was wrong the other guy asked 3 pros Raymond Cruz, Jeff White, and Paul Thornley..and they all said that it wasn't a foul and several other people aswell....so he was already proven wrong it's not a foul and the guy still kept arguing and pissing other the guy off. He said he wans't to play by the 'real' rules or something like that. He said on tv if they touch an object ball it's a foul....Jeff White was like if it were the worlds then it would be a foul which is true. But jebus krist it's a local tournament and the guy obviously didn't wanna play by that rule.
 
People are quick to point out how the rule would be applied under the BCA rules. But a lot of places around here use Texas Express rules. What you have to know is under what rules the tournament is run. Maybe they are using WPA or American Standard or, gasp, APA.

Since it is at McCory's place then the person to ask would be McCory or his TD. And that is the final word. Anything else is pure speculation. Once you understand that then you won't get bogged down in mindless arguments about rules. You just ask the TD for a ruling, and right or wrong, you live with it.

But in every rule book I have read, it states that while playing CB fouls only, it stipulates that if you accidently move a ball and the CB or another moving ball strikes the moved ball, then you have committed a foul.

Jake
 
I have always played (maybe the snooker influence in me?) that if you touch any ball on the table while making your shot (apart from the cb with the tip of your cue while shooting) it is a foul and ball in hand to your opponent. End of story.
 
THe way we play here is if you move another ball then basically just inform your opponant and put it back where it is...obviously you cannot do it on purpose or it would be a foul.
 
Yes, it is a foul - Also, you mentioned that BCA and APA rules say it is option to move touched ball back or let it lay, BCA is optional, but in APA the opponent MUST place the ball in it's original position for continuing.
 
Back
Top