scoring question

SKUNKBOY

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I had a situation come up last night that I think may have been discussed here already but I wouldn't know where to find it. If it has been covered extensively amd someone knows where it is, please post a link and I'll read that...no sense covering it again.

Here's the situation:

WPA rules, 10 point to winner and ball count to loser type system. After the break, nothing made, open table. The incoming player calls a solid, misses that shot, makes a stripe and the 8-ball. An obvious lose of game. I scored it 10-0 to the opponent because no leagally pocketed balls were scored. If the shooter would have made the called solid and the 8-ball (without a scratch), I would have scored it 10-1 to the opponent because the shooter did make his called solid. If the shooter made his called solid, the 8-ball and scratched all in the same shot, I would score 10-0 to the opponent because the scratch would have nullified the called solid.

Sound OK to you all? Would there be any alterate situations that would score these sinerios differently?

Thanks for your help...Ken
 
Scoring......

SKUNKBOY said:
I had a situation come up last night that I think may have been discussed here already but I wouldn't know where to find it. If it has been covered extensively amd someone knows where it is, please post a link and I'll read that...no sense covering it again.

Here's the situation:

WPA rules, 10 point to winner and ball count to loser type system. After the break, nothing made, open table. The incoming player calls a solid, misses that shot, makes a stripe and the 8-ball. An obvious lose of game. I scored it 10-0 to the opponent because no leagally pocketed balls were scored. If the shooter would have made the called solid and the 8-ball (without a scratch), I would have scored it 10-1 to the opponent because the shooter did make his called solid. If the shooter made his called solid, the 8-ball and scratched all in the same shot, I would score 10-0 to the opponent because the scratch would have nullified the called solid.

Sound OK to you all? Would there be any alterate situations that would score these sinerios differently?

Thanks for your help...Ken
I beleive you did it correct. If he called "solid" and makes a stripe, that was technically his opponents ball. So it would not count for him, he would still have zero. So, I would score it 10-0 also.
 
SKUNKBOY said:
I had a situation come up last night that I think may have been discussed here already but I wouldn't know where to find it. If it has been covered extensively amd someone knows where it is, please post a link and I'll read that...no sense covering it again.

Here's the situation:

WPA rules, 10 point to winner and ball count to loser type system. After the break, nothing made, open table. The incoming player calls a solid, misses that shot, makes a stripe and the 8-ball. An obvious lose of game. I scored it 10-0 to the opponent because no leagally pocketed balls were scored. If the shooter would have made the called solid and the 8-ball (without a scratch), I would have scored it 10-1 to the opponent because the shooter did make his called solid. If the shooter made his called solid, the 8-ball and scratched all in the same shot, I would score 10-0 to the opponent because the scratch would have nullified the called solid.

Sound OK to you all? Would there be any alterate situations that would score these sinerios differently?

Thanks for your help...Ken

Your logic is sound, but some leagues have a special scoring for 8-ball out of turn games. In a league I used to play in, it was always a 10-7 no matter when the 8-ball went in out of turn. So, you might check to see if your league has a similar rule. It doesn't appear to be covered under the WPA rules. Or at least I couldn't find any information on league scoring there.

Problem was, teams would put their lowest handicap person against the highest of the other team and have them shoot the 8-ball in first chance to get a 10-7 loss instead of a 10-3 or something.

~rc
 
Wow, 7 points if you sink th e8-ball out of turn...that's a pretty big handicap if used like in your "problem' example. I quite sure our league doesn't have that rule since I wrote most of the rules that are specific to our league. I'd have to say, I would never have considered a rule that was that generous...wow, 7 points...hard to swallow.

Thanks for the input...Ken
 
our bca league uses a simmiliar scoring system and i'm pretty sure it would have been 10-0 in our league.
 
Back
Top