Straight pool rules question ?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Jody C
  • Start date Start date
J

Jody C

Guest
I'm playing a game of straight and the fellow I'm playing with grabs the break ball (I think accidently) and racks it up. What is the ruling.
Thanks, Jo
 
We always played the shooter gets to replace the ball, and it's a foul for the racker....
 
Jody C said:
I'm playing a game of straight and the fellow I'm playing with grabs the break ball (I think accidentally) and racks it up. What is the ruling.
Thanks, Jo
So, this leads to the more general question of what happens when a player who is acting as a referee does something that would be a foul if he were a player, like removing balls from a full pocket and accidentally touching a ball, or touching the break ball with the triangle when removing it.

I think that in general you can't call a foul on a player who is acting as a referee and accidentally fouls.
 
Whatzis???

Bob Jewett said:
So, this leads to the more general question of what happens when a player who is acting as a referee does something that would be a foul if he were a player, like removing balls from a full pocket and accidentally touching a ball, or touching the break ball with the triangle when removing it.

I think that in general you can't call a foul on a player who is acting as a referee and accidentally fouls.

It's a foul to remove balls from a full pocket? I see players do this fairly often, moving balls from one pocket to another. Why, exactly, is this considered a foul?
 
Str8PoolMan said:
It's a foul to remove balls from a full pocket? I see players do this fairly often, moving balls from one pocket to another. Why, exactly, is this considered a foul?

I think you misread Bob's answer. If, during the process of removing balls from a pocket, you accidentally touch an object ball on the table, was what he was describing.
 
Back
Top