SVB v. Yapp: Why was this jump shot legal?

7stud

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The announcers commented that SVB was one of the best jumpers with a full length cue while he lined up this shot:

Screenshot 2025-08-15 at 4.53.17 AM.png


Apparently, SVB needed to jump over the edge of the 9-ball in order to hit the green ball. The WPA jump shot rule says:

8.16 Jump Shot
A jump shot is one in which the cue ball is made to go over an intervening obstacle such as an
object ball or part of the cushion. Whether such a shot is legal depends on how it is
accomplished and the intention of the shooter. Usually a legal jump shot is played by [1]
elevating the cue stick and [2] driving the cue ball down into the playing surface from which it
rebounds.

Did SVB's shot qualify as a legal jump shot? Clearly he was aiming at the bottom of the cue ball, and as a consequence his cue stick was "elevated". Was he also "driving the cue ball down into the playing surface" or was he scooping under the ball?
 
The announcers commented that SVB was one of the best jumpers with a full length cue while he lined up this shot:

View attachment 844376

Apparently, SVB needed to jump over the edge of the 9-ball in order to hit the green ball. The WPA jump shot rule says:



Did SVB's shot qualify as a legal jump shot? Clearly he was aiming at the bottom of the cue ball. Was he "driving the cue ball down into the playing surface" or was he scooping under the ball?
How he lines up and where he actually strikes it are two different things. He did not 'scoop jump' it.
 
100% legal. He didn't scoop it. It's a quarter ball jump, if not less, so he didn't need to elevate his cue that much to clear the 9 ball.
 
The announcers commented that SVB was one of the best jumpers with a full length cue while he lined up this shot:

View attachment 844376

Apparently, SVB needed to jump over the edge of the 9-ball in order to hit the green ball. The WPA jump shot rule says:



Did SVB's shot qualify as a legal jump shot? Clearly he was aiming at the bottom of the cue ball, and as a consequence his cue stick was "elevated". Was he also "driving the cue ball down into the playing surface" or was he scooping under the ball?
He shot the jump shot exactly as the definition describes. He did not scoop under the ball. All three people at the table were satisfied that the shot was legal.

The shot is at 6:55:44 in the recording on WNT if anyone wants to see the shot.
 
The announcers commented that SVB was one of the best jumpers with a full length cue while he lined up this shot:

View attachment 844376

Apparently, SVB needed to jump over the edge of the 9-ball in order to hit the green ball. The WPA jump shot rule says:



Did SVB's shot qualify as a legal jump shot? Clearly he was aiming at the bottom of the cue ball, and as a consequence his cue stick was "elevated". Was he also "driving the cue ball down into the playing surface" or was he scooping under the ball?
Many players feather on the low side of the CB B4 pulling the trigger. That's not where they strike the CB final stroke.
 
If the ferrel touches the ball on a miscue it’s a foul is my understanding

it is technically a foul, but often not called because in the spirit of the game it's "just a miscue". i think the new WPA rules addresses this, but can be wrong there
 
Back
Top