should be loss of game... if not loss of game then the balls should be placed back where they were as long as the incoming player agrees to that.
thats pretty shitty.
thats pretty shitty.
I agree with this,,,but for a forfeit a Ref has to be present? right??
The guy should be banned from all play IMO. And PIF after tournament.lmao
Nobody likes to lose,,,but come on!!! Terrible sportsmanship to say the least.
So last week I had a player who shot at an object ball, and before it was pocketed, shot at a 2nd ball in anticipation of the first falling (which did not). Is this just a foul? or Loss of game?:frown:
Along these same lines is purposefully shooting your opponents balls. Done all the time and should be loss of game. I don't care what the rule book says, it's wrong. Un American. Chicken poop.[/QUOTE
Does anyone else share this view?
If you are hooked and know that you are going to give up ball in hand, is it wrong or unsportsmanlike to shoot at your opponents ball to make his out more difficult?
Sort of like in 9 ball when you are about to give up ball in hand and the 9 is a hanger. Shoot the 9 in the hole so it is spotted instead of leaving the easy winner for your opponent.
Nope, that is called defense. Stop your opponent from winning within all legal means. Totally different than hitting object balls with your cue..... I'll see my opponent who has his ball tied up with the 8ball and the rail, and he is slowly trying to position a break out ball into the area. Nope, gonna shoot that one in for him and give him BIH. I do it all the time with no complaints or snide remarks. Had it done several times to me too !!
Along these same lines is purposefully shooting your opponents balls. Done all the time and should be loss of game. I don't care what the rule book says, it's wrong. Un American. Chicken poop.[/QUOTE
Does anyone else share this view?
If you are hooked and know that you are going to give up ball in hand, is it wrong or unsportsmanlike to shoot at your opponents ball to make his out more difficult?
Sort of like in 9 ball when you are about to give up ball in hand and the 9 is a hanger. Shoot the 9 in the hole so it is spotted instead of leaving the easy winner for your opponent.
I do know its a BIH foul to shoot if any balls are still moving. Sounds like a mess of a table at this point. Maybe just a BIH foul. Makes my head hurt to try to think if balls should be moved back.
You guys are all assuming the movement of the balls was done on accident. Any purposeful movement of balls has to be loss of game. I, for one, dont even care what the rules say. IF it is hard to tell whether he did it on purpose or not, i'd say the moving them back responses are correct.
I agree!according to what I know about the rules....the balls would get replaced to the spot closest to where they originally were before being hit. I'm not sure why they called it ball in hand because according to the APA it is only a foul when the cue ball is struck. Either by a cue or another object. Unless of course one of the balls struck the cue ball. Either way it was bad form.
What any of us might think should result in bih or loss of game means nothing. The written rules are to be used not our judgement.
If you find me to be wrong in this reply Show me the rules that make it wrong. But please do not just give your opinion with out the APA written rules.
g. Causing movement of the cue ball, even
accidentally, is a foul. It is not a foul to
accidentally move any other balls (including the
8-ball) unless, during his turn at the table, a player
moves a ball and it in turn strikes the cue ball.
Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball is a foul.
Any balls moved accidentally during a shot must
be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over
and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs
before the shot, it must be replaced by the
opponent before the shot is taken.
Exception: If an accidentally moved ball comes in
contact with the cue ball, creating a foul, no object
ball will be replaced.
.
I can't find it in the rules, but it doesn't sound like the guy pushed the balls together accidentally. The way I read it, he did it on purpose. To me, that is unsportsmanlike. However, I can't find an sportmanship penalty in the rule book.
Andy
I can't find it in the rules, but it doesn't sound like the guy pushed the balls together accidentally. The way I read it, he did it on purpose. To me, that is unsportsmanlike. However, I can't find an sportmanship penalty in the rule book.
Andy
I remember commenting on that one.....
..I felt that disqualification was the right call.