Vnea coaching rule

stlerdave

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If my player isnt at the table and is not his turn am I allowed to offer advice to him? I said " If this guy misses his next shot play a safe on him" he made it, missed the next one. Other captain calls foul as my player is down on his shot.
 
Yep, you had contact with your team mate. You fouled.
You can ask him if he wants a beer but you can't coach him.
 
I think pool could use more coaching not less but that is the rules in Valley. No coaching during a match.

I was on a team and there was a wide variety of skill and the better players were playing by the time the games were over so alot of there knowledge was not shared with the weaker players.

I do not know how and when coaching should be allowed but I think coaching is good not bad, I think scotch players should be allowed to talk while they play.

But hey I seen some serious BS ruling pulled at Valley state and I would rather let the stick and balls do the talking not the rules to call a foul on someone to win a game.
 
My favorite is when your in Vegas at the VNEA or BCA and your playing an international team and they speak in there language. Happens all the time.
 
It does but if anyone on the team is talking to the player, call a foul on them.

They'll stop in a hurry. Or amazingly enuff, they will start using the English language.
 
I just started playing vnea and my experience says that people care more about the numbers on paper than anything else. Kinda sad. Winning on a technicality is nowhere near as rewarding as simply playing a better game. It takes some fun out of it but playing is still pretty dang fun anyway.

About the question: According to the rules. A foul "must be called and acknowledged before the next shot is taken." According to the OP, the next shot was taken before the foul was called. Or is it meant to mean before your next shot is taken?

To me, the next shot is taken when a cue stick hits a cue ball, regardless of the who. Or is there more to it, is there an authority on rule interpretation? And not that I would do this but: What if you just refused to acknowledge the foul call?
 
Back
Top