websites? books?

frankncali

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am fairly new to 3 cushion having played less than 20 times. I am getting
better and really enjoy it. My concern is that I would rather learn it now the correct way.
What websites or books are out there to help. I have found its much easier being taught in 3C than pocket billiards.

Right now I have a high run of 6. Main problem is being consistent. I will
miss in 2-4 straight turns and then will run a 2-4 on the next one.

Its fun and different.

This weekend I am going to watch some good players play as my local
3c room is having a tourney. $125 entry with a round robin format. Its
handicapped with the minimum being 25 and the maximum being 37.

Supposedly the 2005 US National Champ is going to be there.
Should be fun. The play is on Verhoven tables.

bud green

Dolley and Django
Silver Member
If you don't already have Robert Byrne's first two books, "Standard" and "Advanced Technique in Pool", get them. Almost half of each book is devoted to three cushion with a ton of shots, some system stuff, defensive suggestions. You can learn about 90% of the shots from his books. Eddie Robin has a position play book that is out-of-print and hard to find but is a good one to have.

There are a number of "systems" books out there; Walt Harris's Billiard Atlas series, some books from Europe. These are a lot of work to go though and you might be better off waiting awhile before learning these.

The most highly recommended instructional out there now is Frederic Caudron's two-dvd set from Kozoom.com. It's a French site so you have to figure out a way to pay for it in euros, and it's not cheap at 90 bucks, but its supposed to be a fantastic instructional. Bob Jewett bought a copy and has given it great reviews.

If the 2005 National Champ is there, maybe you can get a lesson from him.

Penrose Cues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
bud green said: