What should the ruling be for this league situation?

Magyar19

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I captain a TAP team and couldn't make it tonight. The 4th match, my 3 faced a 6 and the 6 scratched on the 8 in the first game. The 2nd game, my 3 broke and the 8 was a hair from going in the side. The 6 hit a shot so hard he bounced the cue off the rail, the rail vibrated and the 8 fell in. Now I know it should have been spotted. But I guess he didn't know that and took the loss. The next match started and he starts *****ing, crying and moaning how the rack should be replayed. His captain happens to be the league operator who also wasn't there. He calls him crying and the LO says to rerack. Now my team is incensed, including me on the phone. I agree the 8 should have been spotted but isn't the rule once a win/loss is decided, once you rack the next match, it's official? Plus reracking isn't giving the exact scenario of the game that was at hand. Who knows, the guy could have knocked in the 8 on a later shot. This whole thing stinks to me
 
I see it from both sides actually. Good example of why folks do not like league play. In principal you are correct, by rule I'm pretty sure you are correct.

The guy complaining should've just eaten it since he didn't spot the ball to begin with.

You guys should have just re racked and played the game over when he fussed about it.

This ain't life and death, it's for fun!
 
You guys should have just re racked and played the game over when he fussed about it.

This ain't life and death, it's for fun!

This.

If it wasn't a super important match, and I'm guessing it wasn't since nobody who knew what to do was there :lol:, just let it go.

In league, just let a crybaby be a crybaby and move on. I've even given calls to someone I knew were incorrect when I didn't want to argue anymore.

Take the high road, you'll feel better, and it will come back to them later anyway.
 
This seems the same situation if a player shot at the wrong group of balls by accident. He goofed on the rules and the penalty is a foul. He did not know the rules about hanging ball going in due to vibrations, conceded the game. Next time he will know better. The only time you would replay that game is if both players agreed to it soon as it happened, not after the next match when someone had to be called. It's the same thing as picking up the cueball if you think you have ball in hand when you don't, the result is a foul on your. Conceding the game when you think you lost when you did not lose, is still a loss on you, taking aside anything like the other player or team saying it was OK to re-do it.
 
If a ball is not contacted and it falls in by vibrations etc, ball is respotted, inning continues. Years ago in Kolby KS I intentionally did this, called the hanging ball, slammed the short rail (was loose) w/o hitting the ball :)....made it but LOL they didn't let me continue. We had a good laugh....''I called it'' I knew it wasn't a shot but I thought it might be a fun situation, never came up again in 50 years, that's why I shot it to get a few giggles. :)
 
The guy conceded the frame, and with it the match. Just cos he found out he was wrong to do that afterwards shouldn't change a thing. RTFM and know the rules of the game you are playing, or if you are not sure, then ask at the time for a ruling. Bullshit call to replay the rack.
 
The guy conceded the frame, and with it the match. Just cos he found out he was wrong to do that afterwards shouldn't change a thing. RTFM and know the rules of the game you are playing, or if you are not sure, then ask at the time for a ruling. Bullshit call to replay the rack.

Leagues, amateurs, cocktails etc. cause many situations to be played out in different manners/outcomes that are fair or not. Often the bully gets his way or????? :thumbup:
 
Obviously the bully got his way on this occasion. Completely amateurish decision though. The guy might have packed his cue away, had a couple of cold ones at the bar to celebrate his win. The match was over, and the frame, even though wrongly, conceded by his opponent.
 
Actually...

...re-racking seems pretty fair. Your player didn't know the rule either...or he kept his mouth shut to benefit from his opponent not knowing the rule. Either way, he shares blame in the situation.
 
Back
Top