Going back to the OP's question about a player putting his jump butt in the pocket. If he would have placed his hand in the pocket to retrieve his jump butt while any ball was still in motion near that pocket - foul!!I think this is a CSI-only rule. Note that in CSI, just putting your hand in the pocket at the wrong time is itself a foul whether you touch a ball or not:
Placing hand in pocket: It is a deliberate foul if you catch any ball that is falling into a pocket, or place your hand into a pocket while any ball in play is in motion near that pocket. (AR p. 97)
Imo it wouldn't be a bad idea for every organization to adopt this rule.