Dumb beginner rules question

Big Perm

1pkt 14.1 8 Banks 9 10
Silver Member
My opponent made two shots last night that had us shaking our heads.....both are beginner rules, but neither of us had a book and truth be told, rule books can sometimes leave small openings for interpretation, so I wanted to ask you guys :D

1. First shot.....he intends to go 1 rail, banking over to the other side pocket.....he hits it firm, it misses the first time around, but goes another two rails and into the intended pocket....foul or no?

2. Second shot.....he intends to pocket the 7 in the corner.....slight overcut, it brushes the 14 and the 7 indeed goes in the corner pocket....foul or no? Also, what if the 14 was guarding the pocket - would you have to "call it clean"?

Thanks for any help....I know this is a beginner question, but I thought others might learn from it too...

Jason
 
Hi,

Pocketing a ball in the wrong (uncalled) pocket is not a foul but simply loss of turn.

In both cases you asked about the shot is legal and the shooter can continue.
There is no need to call any rails or contacts with other balls, simply call the ball and the
pocket, if it goes in it's still your turn at the table.
My answer is based on you guys playing normal WPA rules. Bar rules can be different for each bar.

gr. Dave
 
My opponent made two shots last night that had us shaking our heads.....both are beginner rules, but neither of us had a book and truth be told, rule books can sometimes leave small openings for interpretation, so I wanted to ask you guys :D

1. First shot.....he intends to go 1 rail, banking over to the other side pocket.....he hits it firm, it misses the first time around, but goes another two rails and into the intended pocket....foul or no?
In Straight pool you call ball and pocket. The contact with rails and other balls do NOT matter. Your friend got lucky but it counts as a good shot and he continues to shoot.
2. Second shot.....he intends to pocket the 7 in the corner.....slight overcut, it brushes the 14 and the 7 indeed goes in the corner pocket....foul or no? Also, what if the 14 was guarding the pocket - would you have to "call it clean"?
Same thing, in Straight pool calling the 7 in the corner is all that is necessary. Brushing the 14 does NOT matter and NO you do not have to call it "clean".
Thanks for any help....I know this is a beginner question, but I thought others might learn from it too...

Jason
Jason, these questions are not near as dumb as some I have had to ask!
Here is a link to the rules of most popular games:
http://www.bigrigtoys.com/level.itml/icOid/7045
 
Thanks guys....good info, much appreciation....

Ball and pocket....memory locked :D
 
Back
Top