Ruling question concerning push out, playing 9 or 10 Ball.

JoeyA

Efren's Mini-Tourn BACKER
Silver Member
If after the break, the player calls "push out" and he hits the one ball and the one ball drops into a pocket and the cue ball stays on the table, does the one stay down and the opponent takes the table shooting on the next lowest ball from where the cue ball lays?

This is the way I read the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League Pg. 48,

4.4 Pushout After the Break, 2. Any object balls except the 10 ball that are pocketed on a push-out remain pocketed.



Does anyone have any rules that they know of that dispute this?

Thanks,
JoeyA
 
yep. stays down. The opponent would then have otion to shoot from the position or give it back to the breaker.

As long as no foul was comitted, the incoming player will have the choice of playing the shot in position or passing it back. As long as no foul occurs, everything else is incidental ( hitting another ball, hitting a rail, not hitting a ball, rail, etc). No balls ever spot up except the 9.
 
That would be a very interesting situation... I wouldn't think that it would come up that often. Why someone would call 'push' and then proceed to hit the lowest ball on the table first, I don't know. But yeah, like the previous posters said, the one would stay down and the opponent would have the option.
 
... Why someone would call 'push' and then proceed to hit the lowest ball on the table first, I don't know. ...
Here is one possible situation:

The one is on the cushion near the pocket. The five ball is next to it and nearly blocking a good hit. The five will surely move if you make the one on good hit. The five will also move if you get a bad hit and in nearly the same direction and speed. The person who will be calling the shot is a friend of your opponent -- or let's just say you are not confident of his competence. If you leave the cue ball near where the one is, there will be no good shot on the two, but you think you can play a good safe.

Likely? No. But is it is a place where you want to make the one on a push.
 
Hypothetical. I break, the 9 heads to the hole but stops on the shelf and I can't see the 1. You better believe I'm going to call push and take the 9 out of harms way. All that happens is that the 9 spots up.
 
Back
Top