Safety issue...

mwbee777

New member
In 10-Ball is it legal to pocket the correct object ball and call "safe", giving the opponent the next shot? How about in 8-Ball? 9-Ball? Thanks!
 
mwbee777...In 8-ball and 14.1 (straight pool) it is legal to pocket a called OB, and not have to shoot again (it has to be designated prior to shooting the OB). In rotation games, such as 9-ball and 10-ball, you may not legally pocket an object ball and choose not to continue.

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com

In 10-Ball is it legal to pocket the correct object ball and call "safe", giving the opponent the next shot? How about in 8-Ball? 9-Ball? Thanks!
 
Scott is correct in most cases, but if you are talking about in league, you need to check your league rules. I['m pretty sure in APA if you legally pocket one of your balls, your turn continues. No way to make a ball and play safety at the same time. I haven't played BCA in several years, but it was possible when I played in that league. So I would verify with your league officials.
Steve
 
Scott is correct in most cases, but if you are talking about in league, you need to check your league rules. I['m pretty sure in APA if you legally pocket one of your balls, your turn continues. No way to make a ball and play safety at the same time. I haven't played BCA in several years, but it was possible when I played in that league. So I would verify with your league officials.
Steve

Thank you, Steve,
 
Steve...You're right about APA. I forgot that you can't play a pocketed ball safety with their rules. I was thinking World Standardized Rules.

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com

Scott is correct in most cases, but if you are talking about in league, you need to check your league rules. I['m pretty sure in APA if you legally pocket one of your balls, your turn continues. No way to make a ball and play safety at the same time. I haven't played BCA in several years, but it was possible when I played in that league. So I would verify with your league officials.
Steve
 
Back
Top