6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.
The rules are simple as hell. If the ball wasn't called frozen then it wasn't frozen and rolling up to a ball close to the rail creates a rail contact. No foul.
No, the rule says that it is
assumed to not be frozen. That is different than it
actually being not frozen.
The rule doesn't say "A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not
assumed to be touching that rail and then touches that rail. "
It says "A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns." Referring to what actually happened rather than what is assumed to be happening.
Therefore, a foul has occurred, it just can't be called. If it did say that, maybe your argument would have a little more clout.
6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.
The rules are simple as hell. If the ball wasn't called frozen then it wasn't frozen and rolling up to a ball close to the rail creates a rail contact. No foul.
You're spouting ridiculous nonsense. Why don't you just please write to the people who make the rules and explain to them what your "real" rules are and how much better they are? Who knows- maybe soon we can all play "real" pool by your "real" rules.
No, the rule says that it is
assumed to not be frozen. That is different than it
actually being not frozen.
The rule doesn't say "A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not
assumed to be touching that rail and then touches that rail."
It says "A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns." Referring to what actually happened rather than what is assumed to be happening.
Therefore, a foul has occurred, it just can't be called. If it did say that, maybe your argument would have a little more clout.
Why don't you try to understand the difference between assumption and what actually has happened?
I can assume that your mother is so fat that she jumped in the air and got stuck. Does that make it true? If that does make it true and your mother is indeed fat enough to jump in the air and get stuck, then you are right and I rescind my arguments. If not, I am right, so please concede your arguments.