Scratch shot or not scratch shot

BigDeal52

Don Pearce
Silver Member
Had a funny thing happen in league last night. My opponent shot a ball into a pocket that was almost full and put high english on the cue ball. The object ball was pocketed and the cue ball followed it into the pocket but since the pocket was now completely full of balls the cue ball hit the ball in the pocket bounced back and did not scratch.

We are lucky in our league that one of our members is a BCA certified ref. But he was a bit confused on what the ruling would be. At first he said yes that is definitely a scratch. The he recanted and said it was more like if a ball bounced out of a pocket if the pocket was full you would not say the ball was pocketed.

At the end of the day I went by the general concensus and let they guy continue shooting as if there was not a scratch.

So there it is. Any comments or expert opinions on this? To be a scratch or not to be a scratch. That is the question.
 
Had a funny thing happen in league last night. My opponent shot a ball into a pocket that was almost full and put high english on the cue ball. The object ball was pocketed and the cue ball followed it into the pocket but since the pocket was now completely full of balls the cue ball hit the ball in the pocket bounced back and did not scratch.

We are lucky in our league that one of our members is a BCA certified ref. But he was a bit confused on what the ruling would be. At first he said yes that is definitely a scratch. The he recanted and said it was more like if a ball bounced out of a pocket if the pocket was full you would not say the ball was pocketed.

At the end of the day I went by the general concensus and let they guy continue shooting as if there was not a scratch.

So there it is. Any comments or expert opinions on this? To be a scratch or not to be a scratch. That is the question.

It's a foul - from the WPA rules.


8.3 Ball Pocketed
A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system. A ball near the brink of a pocket partly supported by another ball is considered pocketed if removal of the supporting ball would cause the ball to fall into the pocket.
If a ball stops near the edge of a pocket, and remains apparently motionless for five seconds, it is not considered pocketed if it later falls into the pocket by itself. See 1.7 Balls Settling for other details. During that five second period, the referee should ensure that no other shot is taken. An object ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the playing surface is not a pocketed ball. If the cue ball contacts an already pocketed ball, the cue ball will be considered pocketed whether it rebounds from the pocket or not. The referee will remove pocketed object balls from full or nearly full pockets, but it is the shooter’s responsibility to see that this duty is performed.
 
Back
Top