Getting into Coaching

Pidge

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Never was something that crossed my mind. Friends would laugh and joke about it but it's always something I assumed older players progressed into after their career in the sport was over. Now I'm starting to really think about it and take it seriously.I've coached a kid the past year and he has gone from a complete beginner to making 50 breaks on a big table. I get more enjoyment out of watching this kid progress than I do making big breaks my self.

I got a phone call from a friend who had a friend who needed a tip putting on his cue and he was referred to me. The next thing you know he was asking me for a couple of hours lessons for £100. I was like wtf, he doesn't even know me. I declined but said I'd give him the lessons but all he had to do was buy me a beer. We did the lesson and he leaves money on the table. He was not taking no for an answer. I was amazed someone who has just met me and had a lesson for an hour would be so hell bent on paying me for my time. This got me thinking. Could I make a go at it?

For now, I'm not ready to give everything up. It is something I would like to consider to do on the side as more of a hobby.

A question for the instructors out there...how did you get into coaching?

j_zippel

Big Tuna
Silver Member
Pidge I really find your knowledge insightful and I'd be interested in learning more from you, although I'm sure I live no where close to you so I'm not sure how to accomplish it. I probably have a half down screen shots of some of your posts that I've found to be very good information

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Poolmanis

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
This is nice topic. I can assure for you that you get more from that than you put in.

I Don´t have time to answer properly just now.
I will come back later..

Tony_in_MD

You want some of this?
Silver Member