Jayson Shaw victim or defeated foe

"The official rule : If the Player or Referee (as in traditional 14.1 matches) calls the incorrect ball number on an obvious shot, the obvious shot and pocket called supersedes the mistaken numeric call." *in the case with Mr. Strickland's shot, it was obvious to the referee as well as the entire audience he was attempting to shoot the 10ball. He also indicated the shot with his cue beforehand during video replay. Furthermore, the mistaken ball called was the 2ball , which looked unplayable inside the stack with no obvious pocket. Furthermore, the earlier call should have also been in favor of Mr. Strickland on the first obvious shot call. *3 experienced 14.1 experts and officials unanimously agreed on all the above. * We would like to add that we encourage good sportsmanship first and gentlemanly conduct by all players. This includes the "Gentleman's Call" rule on obvious shots.



Wedge



What are you quoting?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
At its highest, it is clear to me that Jayson and most of those supporting his position know exactly what ball Earl intended to play in which pocket but think he should lose his turn because he said the wrong ball number. It is also clear that Jayson let Earl shoot knowing of the miscalled ball intending to capitalize on Earl's mistake.

When I read the rule, it requires that the "intended" ball and pocket be indicated. It is perfectly consistent with that rule to hold that if it is clear to the ref which ball the player intended to make, the shot is good despite saying the wrong number.

It is also noteworthy to me that Darren said he didn't think in such circumstances Earl should lose his turn (except for the fact of the earlier call in this match).

I don't play 14.1, and certainly don't referee events, but I don't think the unarguably favour's Jayson's position.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That is interesting about what Darren said. Thanks for sharing.

As well, Earl pointed to the pocket where he was intending to pocket the ball with his cue stick right before he shot it.

Heck, when you age, you call people the wrong name all the time. I call Keith "Mickey" and call "Mickey" "Keith." I call my brother "Keith" and I call Keith "Ray," the name of my brother. It happens.

Earl suffered an old-man moment and said "2," when he meant "10," but he did point to the pocket where the 10 was going because that's the ball he meant to shoot and pocket. And that is why, I think, the referee ruled in Earl's favor.

At the end, after the ruling, Jayson did get out of line, but I understand why. He was upset. Jayson slammed the balls around that Earl was shooting to try to finish the match and started yelling at Earl. Earl didn't yell back and was restrained. This was shocking to me that Earl was able to contain himself.

I liked seeing Jayson show emotion, FWIW. I like players who show emotion. I do feel bad for Jayson, though, because the ruling went against him in a very close match. Sad situation all the way around.

The finals will be in Mika's favor. The railbirds will be heckling Earl from the moment he walks into the joint. Earl will be so wound up tight that it will be difficult for him to shoot his game, I think. Money goes on Mika for the win! Sorry, Earl. I hope I am wrong. :embarrassed2:
 
"The official rule : If the Player or Referee (as in traditional 14.1 matches) calls the incorrect ball number on an obvious shot, the obvious shot and pocket called supersedes the mistaken numeric call." *in the case with Mr. Strickland's shot, it was obvious to the referee as well as the entire audience he was attempting to shoot the 10ball. He also indicated the shot with his cue beforehand during video replay. Furthermore, the mistaken ball called was the 2ball , which looked unplayable inside the stack with no obvious pocket. Furthermore, the earlier call should have also been in favor of Mr. Strickland on the first obvious shot call. *3 experienced 14.1 experts and officials unanimously agreed on all the above. * We would like to add that we encourage good sportsmanship first and gentlemanly conduct by all players. This includes the "Gentleman's Call" rule on obvious shots.

Wedge

1. This "official rule" does not appear (up to now) anywhere on official rules links
2. There is no "obvious" shot taking minutes to be called
3. The playable or unplayable situation of the 2 was by fact not fully inspected by the referee, since he was sitting too far, the shot was towards the direction of the 2 as well, and he didn't hear (due to sitting too far) what a spectator was able to record from the other side of the room
4. Not talking about choosing sides here or specific players involved, "Gentleman's rule" includes not only allowing your opponent to continue but accepting your own mistakes and their consequences..
 
Are you telling me that Shaw THOUGHT Earl was shooting the 2-ball in that pocket?

Or, are you telling me that Shaw heard Earl call the 2-ball, but knew he was shooting the 10-ball into the pocket he looked at and intended for the 10-ball to go in and used the 2-ball call as a technical rule in order to take an obvious shot away from Earl?

Watch the video again.

Earls calls the 2, and points his cue at the corner pocket.

Now if he had missed the 10, the CB went into the stack, and somehow the 2 ball made it to the corner pocket. He would get credit and be allowed to continue shooting. Because he nominated both ball (the 2) and pocket (the corner).

So why then, does he get credit for the 10, which is not the ball he called?
 
Watch the video again.

Earls calls the 2, and points his cue at the corner pocket.

Now if he had missed the 10, the CB went into the stack, and somehow the 2 ball made it to the corner pocket. He would get credit and be allowed to continue shooting. Because he nominated both ball (the 2) and pocket (the corner).

So why then, does he get credit for the 10, which is not the ball he called?

Good point.......
 
All the Earl haters and bashers need to realize that the referee made the final call, and he ruled in favor of Earl. He's the one that should be held accountable right now, not Earl, not Jayson.

The referee claims he could not hear Earl's words ub the replay of the video that he listened to that was created and produced by the commentators. That is because Al and the other commentator were talking.

The referee did not have the advantage of hearing the railbird's video, produced by Arturo Reyes that is on Facebook. This video, you do hear Earl's words better. There is no commentator talking while Earl was talking in the railbird's video.

Bottom line, ref ruled in favor of Earl. Earl wins.

The aftermath between Earl and Jayson wasn't very pretty to watch. Jayson was angry and let it get the best of him. I feel bad for Jayson, and he has a right to be angry. But refs make wrong calls all the time in sports, and the players have to abide by them. That is what happened here. It is a shame it happened to Jayson Shaw who's been on a winning streak this year.

The TD made the final call. Not the ref.

The difference between this and other sports is that when a defensive back in the NFL gets called for pass interference, when there was no pass interference, he still collects a paycheck.

Jayson was shafted the difference between 3rd and 2nd.


Edit: I saw where you were notified about the TD/Ref difference. Wasn't trying to be a jerk fyi.
 
Last edited:
The TD made the final call. Not the ref.

The difference between this and other sports is that when a defensive back in the NFL gets called for pass interference, when there was no pass interference, he still collects a paycheck.

Jayson was shafted the difference between 3rd and 2nd.

Sheesh! This is another example of semantics. If you read the thread I said over and over and over and over and over and over again that I was referring the short guy with the mullet haircut. Call him whatever the heck you want. THAT is who I was referring to.
 
Watch the video again.

Earls calls the 2, and points his cue at the corner pocket.

Now if he had missed the 10, the CB went into the stack, and somehow the 2 ball made it to the corner pocket. He would get credit and be allowed to continue shooting. Because he nominated both ball (the 2) and pocket (the corner).

So why then, does he get credit for the 10, which is not the ball he called?

Why assume he would have continued shooting? He may have taken his seat knowing his clearly obvious shot was missed.
 
Watch the video again.



Earls calls the 2, and points his cue at the corner pocket.



Now if he had missed the 10, the CB went into the stack, and somehow the 2 ball made it to the corner pocket. He would get credit and be allowed to continue shooting. Because he nominated both ball (the 2) and pocket (the corner).



So why then, does he get credit for the 10, which is not the ball he called?



No he wouldn't, if the referee was satisfied that the shot was not the ball and pocket intended.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Also, Shaw quit. If he had kept his head he may have ended up winning. Earl called the wrong number so he could have made any kind of other mistake.

Shaw knew Earl was shooting the 10. He watched him shoot it waiting for the technicality. So I have no sympathy for him.

I may have quit too after such a fiasco. But to those who say he does this for a living and was shafted, you should admit he should have kept his cool and made earl play it out.
 
In the old days (at least from the few videos available) pros of the that era never seemed to confuse calling shots, they were used to call correctly even the obvious ones. If today's pros wish to carry on Straight Pool legacy they are expected to follow those steps.

Actually, I've seen referees 'correct' a player who misspoke about which ball he was shooting before he shot, and allow the player to continue shooting after he pocketed the ball (despite, technically, saying the wrong ball) because it was obvious which ball he intended to pocket.
 
Even the 10 ball was not a simple obvious shot, otherwise the shooter wouldn't take so much time deciding to play it.

Taking the time to figure out which ball to shoot is not the same thing as it not being obvious which ball you're shooting. Once Earl decided to shoot the 10 it was perfectly obvious which ball he was shooting.
 
Taking the time to figure out which ball to shoot is not the same thing as it not being obvious which ball you're shooting. Once Earl decided to shoot the 10 it was perfectly obvious which ball he was shooting.

That doesn't explain the mistaken call...
 
JS calling the two ball thing on Earl is a pure, bush, APA, bar league move. Total rubbish at that level of play.

Players change their minds, particularly when in a tough position with few options. So if Earl calls the two but turns around and gets down on the ten, you'd have to be a total nit to try what Shaw did.

Having played in a few 14.1 tournaments, about the only time you call a shot is if there could be some doubt which ball you're shooting at because of a combo, carom, or bank. No living human -- who has ever picked up a cue -- could be uncertain what ball Earl was shooting at.

Lou Figueroa
 
Last edited:
Now if he had missed the 10, the CB went into the stack, and somehow the 2 ball made it to the corner pocket. He would get credit and be allowed to continue shooting. Because he nominated both ball (the 2) and pocket (the corner).

You can't know that to be true. Frankly, I think it would have been much more obvious in the situation you describe above that the intended ball was not pocketed and therefore that the shooter should lose his turn.
 
Because the commentators were talking on the stream (the "official" video) while Earl was at the table.

In these cases one needs to listen carefully, and to exclude the video as evidence of calling or not calling a shot if it's not clear.

Then it goes back to the shooter for his opinion (since the referee didn't hear...) and the TD has the right to take audience opinion as well (which would possibly bring into his hands the spectator's clear record of 2 ball called)

Things are not simple in this case, and there is more to it. They organizers on fb refer to a non WPA rule (....) which they applied to the tournament, I asked and it would be very interesting to see their reply about announcing this different non WPA rule at the players meeting, if they did everything is fine, if they didn't...

Also, don't forget that the TD did not refer to this rule while announcing his decision but to lack of evidence about the shooter calling another ball...

There is clearly an issue here...
 
Back
Top