Dreaming of and designing my own pool table

3kushn

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
So, in my quest for the ultimate, strongest, heavy duty pool table, I could place a double nut ...
Let's say one nut has 10 threads of 360°, two nuts have double !!!
That would make the load carrying capacity even higher, doesn't it.
That is a lot easier than designing an alternative system.

Thanks for the input.
I'm not a mechanical engineer or a table mechanic, only a lowly retired torque tooling peddler.
Typical rule of thumb is 3X diameter of thread engagement is about all the pull strength you can get. If I were to select fasteners for the ultimate design I'd find or have made precision studs and nuts with rolled threads, not cut threads. Rolled would have the strongest thread strength. Class of fit would be 3A & 3B. I don't believe you would need high tensile strength if you're going to be bolting against wood. Looking at Perfection, you'll want to be sure bolt holes line up perfectly so the bearing surface under the bolt head has full contact. This will ensure, for one, that if a torque wrench is used you'll end up with tighter tolerances regarding tension/clamp load. I'd also suggest heavy precision washers.
Brain Storming.....

3kushn

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm kinda partial to "T-Rails" Just my opinion, its a stronger design.
2 things although.
The rails aren't as quiet.
Risk of cracking a slate if you crank down on the rail bolts.

This is my Verhoeven
50mm slate.
Top row goes into the slate. Bottom row goes into the frame.

Attachments

• Bolts.jpg
    Bolts.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 136

boogieman

It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that ping.
I'm not a mechanical engineer or a table mechanic, only a lowly retired torque tooling peddler.