Rules question regarding a foul

rostym

Member
I had a shot where I had to use the mechanical bridge. I set up the shot and made it w/o issue. After all motion of balls on the table stopped, when I took the cue from off the mechanical bridge I let the tip end of the cue drop and it touched another ball. So, is the foul considered on the shot, where the ball I made gets spotted and I lose a point, or is it considered a foul on (actually before) the next shot where the ball stays down and counts as a point, but I lose a point on the foul? We played it as the latter, where the ball counted and was not spotted. Although it gave me one more point, it actually was to the advantage of my opponent since the spotted ball would have locked him up whereas w/o spotting the ball he had an easy shot with an open table.
 
You did it the right way. At pool a shot ends (and is scored) when all the balls stop moving. The foul was between shots. Here is the definition of a shot:

8.2 Shot
A shot begins when the tip contacts the cue ball due to a forward stroke motion of the cue stick. A shot ends when all balls in play have stopped moving and spinning. A shot is said to be legal if the shooter did not foul during the shot.​

On the other hand...

At snooker the shot does not end until (basically) the player has gotten away from the table. So, if he has the long equipment out to bridge over the reds for the black ball and makes it successfully, but then touches a red ball while getting the rest off the table, it's a 7-point foul. Here's the rule for snooker:

(d) A stroke is not completed until: (i) all balls have come to rest; (ii) spotting of any balls required is completed; and (iii) any ancillary equipment being used by the striker has been removed, or the referee is satisfied that the stroke is completed.​
By the rules of pool, the snooker foul would only be four points (for touching the red).
 
My question involves mistakes racking balls between innings playing straight pool. what is the penalty if….

1. If the shooters touches or accidentally racks the 15th ball.
2. If the opponent touches or accidentally racks the 15th ball
 
My question involves mistakes racking balls between innings playing straight pool. what is the penalty if….

1. If the shooters touches or accidentally racks the 15th ball.
2. If the opponent touches or accidentally racks the 15th ball
Usually, if the opponent accidentally touches the 15th ball while racking, it is merely replaced (with the shooter‘s consent re: position). Since I don’t believe in ‘rack-your-own’, that might well involve more complicated/suspicious issues others should likely address.
 
Usually, if the opponent accidentally touches the 15th ball while racking, it is merely replaced (with the shooter‘s consent re: position). Since I don’t believe in ‘rack-your-own’, that might well involve more complicated/suspicious issues others should likely address.
Another way to look at it is that the referee (or person acting as the referee) can't be called for a foul. Put the ball back as best you can.

If the opponent is the sort of person who demands to put the ball back in the location that is best for him regardless of what he knows to be the original position, get a different opponent.
 
Last edited:
Usually, if the opponent accidentally touches the 15th ball while racking, it is merely replaced (with the shooter‘s consent re: position). Since I don’t believe in ‘rack-your-own’, that might well involve more complicated/suspicious issues others should likely address.
Is there an official rule or interpretation of a rule on this?
 
Is there an official rule or interpretation of a rule on this?
The official World Standardized Rules assume a ref is racking. I get requests from the BCA office to give rules interpretations, so you could take what I've said above as official for this special outside-the-rules case. But since it seems to be a private game and not in competition, if that doesn't work for both of you, you will have to negotiate something else. It's better to negotiate before the problem comes up.
 
Of course, there is another aspect (re: traditional/casual competition): If the ref (or the opponent acting as such, whose opinion must be accepted BTW) cannot properly rack without accidentally touching it (due to it’s close position, and regardless of the pencil lines), it goes to the headspot.
 
Of course, there is another aspect (re: traditional/casual competition): If the ref (or the opponent acting as such, whose opinion must be accepted BTW) cannot properly rack without accidentally touching it (due to it’s close position, and regardless of the pencil lines), it goes to the headspot.
I think the World Standardized Rules say something else. Which ruleset are you referring to?
 
I think the World Standardized Rules say something else. Which ruleset are you referring to?
As I stated: TRADITIONAL/CASUAL (before lines were routinely drawn, and players typically had access to BCA rulebooks). If the ref said it ’interfered’ then it interfered. Risk you ran leaving the 15th ball close to the rack.
 
Thanks guys for responding. We have a 14.1 league so I guess it falls between casual and having a ref ( however, I have seen professional tournaments at Griffs with players racking their own). Until I hear different, I'm of the opinion that the player racking is acting as a referee and therefore cannot be penalized. Replace as best as possible to the original position.
 
Back
Top