VNEA scoring question

softshot

Simplify
Silver Member
Player A breaks sinks 1 solid, and 1 stripe.
Player A shoots and misses

Player B shoots misses and inadvertently sinks the 8 ball.

What is the final score?
 
I didn't fight it too hard and gave them the point.. we won the night handily

however in a tight tournament match where every point matters I'm not sure I'd be so generous..

that's why I'm hoping for an official ruling.. I've been all over the rulebook since and cannot find it addressed anywhere..
 
That doesn't work, what if it's 2 solids instead of one of each? Why would they get 2 points?

It still counts as points. I have played similar matches where I broke, made a few balls for the opponent and ran out the other side. The guy got the points for my break making his balls in LOL. Yes it's silly but some leagues just count balls left and anything off the table not a "dead" ball due to a foul is counted.
 
It still counts as points. I have played similar matches where I broke, made a few balls for the opponent and ran out the other side. The guy got the points for my break making his balls in LOL. Yes it's silly but some leagues just count balls left and anything off the table not a "dead" ball due to a foul is counted.
Right you made a called shot suits are determined and they get the points for the other side.. that happens alot..

But on an open table???

If they are both solids instead of one of each who's to say who's balls they are?
 
Have seen this situation before. Player broke & made a ball. On his next shot he made an object ball along with the 8. Score was 10-0 in this situation and should have been with Softshot's.

The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.
 
Right you made a called shot suits are determined and they get the points for the other side.. that happens alot..

But on an open table???

If they are both solids instead of one of each who's to say who's balls they are?

Yes open table, if you finish the game and shot stripes, that by default means the other guy was solids. Count how many solids there are, anything pocketed goes to the other guy for points. Trust me when this happens I find it as silly giving my opponent balls for a game he never got up off the chair for, but it happens. I just take it as a funny thing.
 
Yes open table, if you finish the game and shot stripes, that by default means the other guy was solids. Count how many solids there are, anything pocketed goes to the other guy for points. Trust me when this happens I find it as silly giving my opponent balls for a game he never got up off the chair for, but it happens. I just take it as a funny thing.
In that case suits are determined..

In this case the game is over and the table is STILL open..
 
In that case suits are determined..

In this case the game is over and the table is STILL open..

I see the point, may need to check with their national office. For simple logic point of view, since one of each was made, one of those must be the opponents suit no matter what happens so they get 1.
 
For simple logic point of view, since one of each was made, one of those must be the opponents suit no matter what happens so they get 1.
A called object ball must be legally pocketed after the break to determine stripes and solids. Until then the pocketed balls on the break belong to neither player. The object ball pocketed while making the 8 ball does not count as it was not pocketed legally. The early 8 ball results in a loss of game and a 10-0 final score.
 
I didn't fight it too hard and gave them the point.. we won the night handily

however in a tight tournament match where every point matters I'm not sure I'd be so generous..

that's why I'm hoping for an official ruling.. I've been all over the rulebook since and cannot find it addressed anywhere..
You would still be wrong.
 
Back
Top