Florida Open 2025, August 5-10, Orlando, Caribe Royale

Could tell you had some jitters but who wouldn’t. It’s an experience you won’t forget. And you still got a bullet left.
If you don’t have fun it’s your own fault.
My motto is “ Am I going to win? No!
Am I going to finish in the money? Probably not!
But can I ruin someone else’s day? (I don’t really mean it)
Absolutely!!
Thanks for the kind words. It has been great and you are right, I won't forget it!
 
Is that a foul if nothing contacts the cue ball while it's rolling?

Question for @Bob Jewett.
So..., it's complicated. Technically, under the WSR (World Standardized Rules) which Matchroom is using (except for break format, I think), intentionally touching any out of play ball while a game is in progress is unsportsmanlike conduct. An unsportsmanlike foul is penalized as the referee (and maybe tournament management) sees fit. If I were the ref and the object ball did not touch any ball still in play, I would ask the player to please wait for the shot to finish. It's possible that the TD has decided on a specific way to handle this particular USLC.

If your opponent knocks a ball off the table (a foul) and it rolls over to your chair, and you pick it up, that is technically unsportsmanlike conduct. The possible penalties range from nothing to ejection from the tournament and forfeiture of all prizes and ranking points, according to the judgement of the officials. If you were the ref, how would you penalize a player for returning a lofted ball?

The rules used to have a clause explicitly allowing the players to touch out of play balls to help the referee with his duties, but it is not in the current revision.
 
I have seen several players pick up a rolling cue ball. No one bats an eye.
That's a problem. Again, it depends on the situation. If there was a bad hit, and the cue ball is rolling up to the far rail and is sure to hit nothing, that's one thing. I have seen a player pick up the cue ball while it was rolling after a foul, and it was rolling towards a cluster.
 
That's a problem. Again, it depends on the situation. If there was a bad hit, and the cue ball is rolling up to the far rail and is sure to hit nothing, that's one thing. I have seen a player pick up the cue ball while it was rolling after a foul, and it was rolling towards a cluster.

i assume here but they only have area refs at this juncture (?), and since it's hard to enforce with area refs, they don't. with marcel reffing in single elim he'd probably go NEIN! das ist foul! and make the offending player do a hundred push ups
 
So..., it's complicated. Technically, under the WSR (World Standardized Rules) which Matchroom is using (except for break format, I think), intentionally touching any out of play ball while a game is in progress is unsportsmanlike conduct. An unsportsmanlike foul is penalized as the referee (and maybe tournament management) sees fit. If I were the ref and the object ball did not touch any ball still in play, I would ask the player to please wait for the shot to finish. It's possible that the TD has decided on a specific way to handle this particular USLC.

If your opponent knocks a ball off the table (a foul) and it rolls over to your chair, and you pick it up, that is technically unsportsmanlike conduct. The possible penalties range from nothing to ejection from the tournament and forfeiture of all prizes and ranking points, according to the judgement of the officials. If you were the ref, how would you penalize a player for returning a lofted ball?

The rules used to have a clause explicitly allowing the players to touch out of play balls to help the referee with his duties, but it is not in the current revision.
I struggle with this interpretation some. You stated it’s unsportsmanlike conduct to touch balls “out of play”. I know rule 6.17 (b) says it’s unsportsmanlike conduct to change the position of balls “in play”. I always thought you’d interpret balls pocketed to be “out of play”. I was under the impression that the sticking point here is that the referee considers balls pocketed to still be “in play” which I would argue against. But I can’t find where WSR says touching “out of play” balls is unsportsmanlike conduct. Can you provide a citation? I’ve searched.

I thought if any rule was apt it would actually be Regularion 13. The rules indicate that clearing pockets is the responsibility of a referee when present. And Regulation 5 indicates that the non-shooting player can assume the duties of the referee when not present. And between the two the “unsportsmanlike conduct” would be the shooter assuming referee duties when not explicitly indicated they have that responsibility.

But in any event (and disregarding the ridiculous EPBF soccer card system) under Regulation 6 the latitude of the ref should mean the penalty be a warning like “You can sit down. I will clear the pockets.” Just like John Leyman did with Sam and Carlo after the first rack of the Florida Open in Table 1.
 
Last edited:
Thorsten Hohmann comes back from a 6-0 deficit to knock off Kledio Kaci.
1754571473455.png


Is there a reason why it still shows Hohmann representing Germany (Hohmann became a US citizen a few weeks ago), other than maybe the graphics data for Hohmann has yet to be updated? Does Thorsten choose to still represent Germany? Just wondering.
 
View attachment 842492

Is there a reason why it still shows Hohmann representing Germany (Hohmann became a US citizen a few weeks ago), other than maybe the graphics data for Hohmann has yet to be updated? Does Thorsten choose to still represent Germany? Just wondering.
He was eligible to request from Matchroom that he represent the USA ever since they had changed their policy for Fedor to only require permanent resident status. So odds are, he’s never made the request.

He was eligible to request from WPA that he represent the USA ever since he became a US citizen. I assume this means he has dual citizenship and currently has not made the request to the WPA either. They also have some weird stipulations on changing your country of representation that can be waived/expedited which I believe they did for Allison Fisher.

But in either case earning your citizenship alone is not an automatic trigger to make the change in representation.
 
@JAA

Would it be possible to add one more column to the brackets (on both the winner's and loser's side) to show who actually advances to stage 2? Such as the screenshot below. It would make the readability of the bracket much easier. Thanks for the consideration.

1754575875911.png
 
Last edited:
Back
Top