"Think three balls ahead" is horrible advice.

ScottK

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I thought about posting this to the "Pool Secrets" thread; it's not really a secret. Many people are aware of it, some do it, but most really don't.

I thought about commenting in JohnnyT's thread when he said "if you're not getting out start thinking three balls ahead" or something to that effect.

"Think three balls ahead" is terrible advice, at least for anyone but the absolute novice.
For anyone possessing any degree of pool playing ability there may not be anything worse you could drive into their head.
Honestly, I don't even think I'd give this advice to an absolute novice.

So, here it is... my "pool secret." I've never heard it put quite like this, in fact I don't recall having heard it taught. I'm sure it has, but perhaps not so simply.
I don't lay claim to the concept, but maybe I can lay claim to a phrase.

If you want to be more successful at pool, do not think three balls ahead. Think eight, nine, or ten balls ahead. Think fifteen balls ahead. Play three ball patterns.

That's my phrase. "Play three ball patterns." You have to think through the whole rack or your asking for trouble. Think through the entire rack, and play three ball patterns.

fast&loose designs

Chris Santana
Silver Member
I thought about posting this to the "Pool Secrets" thread; it's not really a secret. Many people are aware of it, some do it, but most really don't.

I thought about commenting in JohnnyT's thread when he said "if you're not getting out start thinking three balls ahead" or something to that effect.

"Think three balls ahead" is terrible advice, at least for anyone but the absolute novice.
For anyone possessing any degree of pool playing ability there may not be anything worse you could drive into their head.

So, here it is... my "pool secret." I've never heard it put quite like this, in fact I don't recall having heard it taught. I'm sure it has, but perhaps not so simply.