Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > 14.1 Pool
Reload this Page One more racking question?
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
One more racking question?
Old
  (#1)
djoverboard
Registered
djoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond reputedjoverboard has a reputation beyond repute
 
djoverboard's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 25
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buffalo
   
One more racking question? - 09-06-2020, 06:54 AM

Iím sure u have seen this here or in another group or rad it in an instructional book but the question is: If I play safe by pocketing the 15th ball a) is that ball simply placed in the foot spot? b) the halls are re- racked with out question? c) it is the option of the incoming player if the rack is used to reset the rack ? Maybe some other option ?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Dan White
AzB Silver Member
Dan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond reputeDan White has a reputation beyond repute
 
Dan White's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,566
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2005
   
09-06-2020, 12:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djoverboard View Post
I’m sure u have seen this here or in another group or rad it in an instructional book but the question is: If I play safe by pocketing the 15th ball a) is that ball simply placed in the foot spot? b) the halls are re- racked with out question? c) it is the option of the incoming player if the rack is used to reset the rack ? Maybe some other option ?

I don't understand the question. The 15th ball is the break ball for the next rack. You would never play safe on this ball because play stops and the other 14 balls are racked. Now the 15th ball becomes the break ball. Otherwise, any time you play safe and pocket a ball it is spotted.

EDIT: If you are talking about playing safe on the break ball without disturbing the rack, then... what Bob said.


Dan White

Last edited by Dan White; 09-06-2020 at 01:17 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
09-06-2020, 01:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djoverboard View Post
Iím sure u have seen this here or in another group or rad it in an instructional book but the question is: If I play safe by pocketing the 15th ball a) is that ball simply placed in the foot spot? b) the halls are re- racked with out question? c) it is the option of the incoming player if the rack is used to reset the rack ? Maybe some other option ?
We play that it is at the option of the incoming player, but if there is a ref, he should decide whether the re-rack is needed. If the newly-spotted head ball is not frozen, the balls should be re-racked.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
DynoDan's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 476
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2018
   
09-06-2020, 01:31 PM

IMHO, if the spotted ball IS frozen, then the balls were probably racked too far forward (spotted ball is thus leaning into the footspot divot). Why dick around trying to get the ball to freeze when a re-rack would likely be quicker anyway (assuming a true/accurate triangle is available), plus avoiding any possible contention? I think a re-rack should likely be a mandatory requirement.

Last edited by DynoDan; 09-06-2020 at 01:39 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,791
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
09-06-2020, 01:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoDan View Post
I ... I think a re-rack should likely be a mandatory requirement.
That would certainly simplify the rule. It does require remembering whether the rack has been contacted.

(Edit)

The applicable rule currently reads in part:
If the fifteenth ball of a rack needs to be spotted and the fourteen balls have not been touched, the fifteenth ball will spot on the apex spot and the referee may use the triangle to assure a tight rack.
So I suppose it should read "will" rather than "may". Of course it wouldn't technically apply in those situations where a triangle is not used but the wording could be patched up.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy

Last edited by Bob Jewett; 09-06-2020 at 02:03 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.