Is Weight A Big Deal?

Inzombiac

Silver Member
I'm pretty new to pool but I have a feeling I won't be giving it up anytime soon so I'm buying my first cue (lower end at first). Something I've noticed is that there are different weights for cues (18oz, 19oz, 20oz....), and what I want to know is: Does the weight really affect your game? I'd imagine it would be a preference thing, but I've been playing with a friend's cue for my league and with house cues otherwise and I've played consistently with both.

MrLucky

Pool Fanatic!!
Silver Member
My advice is to ....

Inzombiac said:
I'm pretty new to pool but I have a feeling I won't be giving it up anytime soon so I'm buying my first cue (lower end at first). Something I've noticed is that there are different weights for cues (18oz, 19oz, 20oz....), and what I want to know is: Does the weight really affect your game? I'd imagine it would be a preference thing, but I've been playing with a friend's cue for my league and with house cues otherwise and I've played consistently with both.

prior to making the purchase go to your pool room and for a few days try the different weight house cues to see the differences in stroke and hitting before deciding on your cue weight! Yes it is a difference! and which is right for you depends on your stroke, power, and last but not least the way it feels to you over a period of shooting!

Mr. Wilson

El Kabong
Gold Member
Silver Member
Inzombiac said:

IMO, it is mostly mental, but who knows. 18 vs 20 oz is nothing really.

I like mine @ 19.5 or so.

I orginally thought by "weight" you meant a handicap and if you didn't think it matters, give me the 8 :D

catscradle

<< 2 all-time greats
Silver Member
Inzombiac said: