Ultraskin Pro Maintenance question

caff3in3

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hey all,

I am about to try ultraskin tips for the first time and had a couple questions.

I have been playing for about 20 years and have used medium tips exclusively. I use a lot of spin in my game and after doing some reading it seems like I should be using soft tips instead of medium to get more grip on the cueball. I am having an ultraskin pro tip installed.

I understand that softer tips will mushroom and need more maintenance. Specifically I would like to know (from folks who have used the pro tips):

1. I have an ultimate tip tool. Will this be sufficient to trim the mushrooming or should I invest in a tip shaver like the Joe porper one to save time?

2. How often should I be shaping it to keep a dime radius?

Thanks for any assistance. I am really excited to try these tips after reading all of the great feedback for them on here!

Cheers,

Chris

Cross

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I dont know if I am thinking about the same ultimate tip tool , but what I had a few years back did not really trim the mushroomed sides. I think it just squuezes it back into original shape without trimming. If this is the same one, then the mushroom will just come back over and over. Usually, even on soft tips, I dont remember having to shape my tip into a dime radius more than once or twice for the lifetime of the tip.

for what its worth, I too use a lot of spin in my shots and when I switched to a softer tip ( G2 soft) I began missing more shots. I think that because it grips the cueball more, the spin I impart becomes more than I intended. Im sure that given enough time I would have learned to adjust to the softer tip but I just took it off and went back to my usual kamui black soft ( little bit harder than the g2 soft).

good luck!

Last edited:

Tramp Steamer

One Pocket enthusiast.
Silver Member
Welcome to the forum. Lots to see and do.