Problem with distance on cut shots

ledrums

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi everyone. I've been noticing the shots I tend to miss most are cuts where the cue ball and object ball are close together. For example, a 45 degree cut with a 3-4 inches separation between CB and OB. Any words of advice on cut shots with balls close together? Thanks

phjunky

Registered
Sorry if I'm boring, but only one word... Practice... it's a good thing that you noticed a weak point, so you can redo that shot over and over to get it. Try those with projection (throw) and deflection (squirt -harder). You'll realize that the aiming point is changing depending of the english you put. But i'm not an expert, the only real good trick is : practice.

LastTwo

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
ledrums said:
Hi everyone. I've been noticing the shots I tend to miss most are cuts where the cue ball and object ball are close together. For example, a 45 degree cut with a 3-4 inches separation between CB and OB. Any words of advice on cut shots with balls close together? Thanks

I used to be really uncomfortable with the shots you describe. What I do now is I just look at the contact point and focus on it. I focus on hitting exactly that spot, and hitting exactly where I want to on the cueball. On these shots I have a tendency to look at the cueball last. Just stay solid in your stance, keep your head down and stroke straight thru. You should get better results. I have a better make percentage with shots like this now, after focusing on what I described.

TheConArtist

Daddy's A Butcher
Silver Member
i also find these type of shots hard as i get down really low and i lose sight of the angle, but i find using the aim and pivot system really good for these type of shots. But like LastTwo mention'd focus on hitting exactly the contact point.

tedkaufman

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member