10 Ball Rules (at least those I've seen, including WPA and BCA/BCAPL) say that if you "wrongfully pocket" a ball, either by pocketing a ball on a called safety or by pocketing a ball without also legally pocketing a called ball, it's an automatic push shot and your opponent has the option of returning play to you.
I've been aware of and played by this rule for a long time, but I've always wondered what the reason for it is. I think I heard somewhere (here?) that it's to prevent too-easy safeties - is that it? If so, how does pocketing a ball make a safety too easy?
Anybody know? Bueller?
pj
chgo
I've been aware of and played by this rule for a long time, but I've always wondered what the reason for it is. I think I heard somewhere (here?) that it's to prevent too-easy safeties - is that it? If so, how does pocketing a ball make a safety too easy?
Anybody know? Bueller?
pj
chgo