skjacobpool
Registered
Hi,
I´ve got a question regarding a specific 10 ball situation when a player on the table calls a shot, but misses and does not make neither the called ball or any other ball, instead, the situation ends up as a safety - doesn´t really matter if the incoming player is "snookered" or not, simply that he finds this situation to be a result of an unintended safety. Is he permitted to let and force his opponent play this shot ? I looked it up in the WPA rules, but I found it misleading as it says :
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.
But IMO it doesn´t cover this situation -it is an implication A -> B where "A" is the cause - player misses a called shot AND makes the called ball in another pocket or makes another ball. "B" is the consequence of it - his opponent chooses between 2 possibilities. The point I´m trying to make now is that we cannot revert this rule and say "A player is permitted to hand back the shot to his opponent when his opponent had missed an intended shot and....
That is because there is no clear equivalence relation between "A" and "B" and therefore the implication B -> A may or may not be true.
I apologize for this kind of explanation, I don´t want to sound and seem like some nerd or something, I just try to prevent any of you from using incorrect logic explanation that IMHO is not acceptable when it comes to rules.Also, I know that my opinion and this post can contain some error, but at the moment I am not aware of anything I might have misunderstood or abused. Also, it is half past midnight here
so I am just ready to go to sleep
Here it comes - a simplification of the above - When is the incoming player permitted to force his opponent play the shot he left ?
Thank you for an explanation and once again, sorry for the post which I ultimately find much more complicated and misleading as originally planned. It turned into an English writing practice, something I should really continue to work on.
Best regards and sorry for any language error as well as taking your time.
I´m just really curious about this game situation
I´ve got a question regarding a specific 10 ball situation when a player on the table calls a shot, but misses and does not make neither the called ball or any other ball, instead, the situation ends up as a safety - doesn´t really matter if the incoming player is "snookered" or not, simply that he finds this situation to be a result of an unintended safety. Is he permitted to let and force his opponent play this shot ? I looked it up in the WPA rules, but I found it misleading as it says :
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.
But IMO it doesn´t cover this situation -it is an implication A -> B where "A" is the cause - player misses a called shot AND makes the called ball in another pocket or makes another ball. "B" is the consequence of it - his opponent chooses between 2 possibilities. The point I´m trying to make now is that we cannot revert this rule and say "A player is permitted to hand back the shot to his opponent when his opponent had missed an intended shot and....
That is because there is no clear equivalence relation between "A" and "B" and therefore the implication B -> A may or may not be true.
I apologize for this kind of explanation, I don´t want to sound and seem like some nerd or something, I just try to prevent any of you from using incorrect logic explanation that IMHO is not acceptable when it comes to rules.Also, I know that my opinion and this post can contain some error, but at the moment I am not aware of anything I might have misunderstood or abused. Also, it is half past midnight here


Here it comes - a simplification of the above - When is the incoming player permitted to force his opponent play the shot he left ?
Thank you for an explanation and once again, sorry for the post which I ultimately find much more complicated and misleading as originally planned. It turned into an English writing practice, something I should really continue to work on.
Best regards and sorry for any language error as well as taking your time.
I´m just really curious about this game situation
