14.1 Break Rule

BANKONIT

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
While Watching 2 Class "d" Players Last Night Player A Breaks, 2 Balls Don't Touch A Rail. Player B Has "a " Rebreak. 2 Balls Don't Touch Again. Player B Accepts And Shoots, Misses. Player A Shoots And Scratches. Player B Said A Was On 3 Foul Rule, 15 Off. I Step In And Said No, Acording To Bca Straight Pool Rule 6.6 The 3 Foul Rule Does Not Apply To The Break Shot. My Question Is How Many Fouls Is Player A On When He Gets Back To The Table ?
 
Just one foul. Fouls on the opening break don't count toward the three foul penalty.
 
BANKONIT said:
While Watching 2 Class "d" Players Last Night Player A Breaks, 2 Balls Don't Touch A Rail. Player B Has "a " Rebreak. 2 Balls Don't Touch Again. Player B Accepts And Shoots, Misses. Player A Shoots And Scratches. Player B Said A Was On 3 Foul Rule, 15 Off. I Step In And Said No, Acording To Bca Straight Pool Rule 6.6 The 3 Foul Rule Does Not Apply To The Break Shot. My Question Is How Many Fouls Is Player A On When He Gets Back To The Table ?
You have to distinguish between a "breaking violation" and a simple foul on the opening break. The breaking violation incurs a 2-point penalty and the opponent has the choice of shooting or a rebreak. That's enough of a penalty for that, so a breaking violation does not count towards 3 consecutive fouls.

If you meet the requirements of the break but also scratch or foul in some other way, then your opponent has no choice and you are on one foul.

There is the corner case of failing to meet the breaking requirements and also fouling otherwise, such as scratching or missing the rack entirely. This is penalized with a loss of 2 points and is not the first of three.
 
Back
Top