14.1 Rules Questions

Wink

14.1 Wannabe
Silver Member
This happened last night. I have a few questions related to rules.

Break Foul Questions:

1) Player A breaks (initial break), does NOT drive two balls to the rail. That is a 2-point penalty. Incoming player has the option to force re-break, or accept in position. Is that correct?

2) Player A breaks (initial break), does NOT drive two balls to the rail AND scratches. That is a 2-point penalty for the break foul and a 1-point penalty for the scratch foul. Incoming player has the option to force re-break, or accept in position.
SO... is the player who broke on TWO fouls since it was two separate fouls? Or are the on THREE fouls since it was three points?



Cus Ball in RACK question:

At the end of the rack, the Cue Ball lays INSIDE the rack area. Object ball is outside the rack. Is the Cue Ball placed on the spot at the kitchen end? Or is it free in the kitchen?

I have an old 2004 BCA rule book, so was curious as to the rules on these items.

Thanks in advance.
 
This happened last night. I have a few questions related to rules.

Break Foul Questions:

1) Player A breaks (initial break), does NOT drive two balls to the rail. That is a 2-point penalty. Incoming player has the option to force re-break, or accept in position. Is that correct?

2) Player A breaks (initial break), does NOT drive two balls to the rail AND scratches. That is a 2-point penalty for the break foul and a 1-point penalty for the scratch foul. Incoming player has the option to force re-break, or accept in position.
SO... is the player who broke on TWO fouls since it was two separate fouls? Or are the on THREE fouls since it was three points?



Cus Ball in RACK question:

At the end of the rack, the Cue Ball lays INSIDE the rack area. Object ball is outside the rack. Is the Cue Ball placed on the spot at the kitchen end? Or is it free in the kitchen?

I have an old 2004 BCA rule book, so was curious as to the rules on these items.

Thanks in advance.

1) Yes, incoming player has the option (WPA rule # 4.3)

2) The offending player is on one foul only (WPA rule # 4.10). The rule states: "If both a standard foul and a breaking foul happen on one shot, it is considered a breaking foul." So, according to this rule I believe the total penalty is 2 points, not three. Perhaps Bob Jewett can correct me if I'm wrong on this.

3) The cue ball may be placed anywhere in the kitchen area (WPA rule 4.8).

Here is a link to the world standardized rules:

http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_141

Hope this helps.
 
Last edited:
Breaking Fouls

Response 2 is partially correct. The offending player loses 2 points because it is considered a breaking foul. However, the player is not on any fouls as only standard fouls are counted towards the 3 foul rule (rule 4.11).
 
Response 2 is partially correct. The offending player loses 2 points because it is considered a breaking foul. However, the player is not on any fouls as only standard fouls are counted towards the 3 foul rule (rule 4.11).

Thanks for jumping in. I'd meant to edit it after I read my post and noticed the error but got side-tracked and didn't get back to it until just now. ;)
 
Back
Top