2016 U S Open straight pool question

BobTfromIL

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Just watched some of the 2016 straight pool on chalkysticks and something happened that I didn't understand.
They played down to 1 ball reracked, and then shot the remaining ball, but instead of playing a break shot as usual they then did a reracked to a full rack. Was there some local rule in effect?
 
Just watched some of the 2016 straight pool on chalkysticks and something happened that I didn't understand.
They played down to 1 ball reracked, and then shot the remaining ball, but instead of playing a break shot as usual they then did a reracked to a full rack. Was there some local rule in effect?

The player probably had no good break shot so he called safe. The pocketed ball then spots (and is often re-racked) and the opponent is forced to play a safe off a full rack. Or at least that what usually causes the situation you describe. It's pretty standard.
 
Thanks Bob, never thought of that. I just watched for a 2 racks and it happened both times
it'll be on for a while so I might take another look.
 
Back
Top