3 foul rule

LA toolman

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
It has been quite some time since I"ve played in a league or a tournament that use the 3 foul.

Last night the topic came up during our local 8-ball money league,(which does not use this rule)where my teamate
explained that the rule only applies when the incoming player declines his turn with ball in hand and passes it to the player who fouled.
Meaning a player can lose by this rule only if he fouls on 3 consecutive shots without their opponent taking a shot.

He said it was clarified this way to him in LV at APA nationals.
I realize different leagues and tourneys may vary in the application of this rule,and may also vary between 8-bal and 9-ball.

Well I had to politely disagreee with my friend who is a very good player.
I always understood that the player with ball in hand could then play safe,get another BIH etc....
All responses,opinions are appreciated.

Thanks
Mike L.
 
Last edited:
I had a friend who thought the 3 foul rule meant his opponent had to play 3 safeties in a row. I explained to him that the opponent could play safe, make a ball, scratch, etc. as long as he fouled 3 times consecutively.

Example Playing 9-Ball:

1. Jack scratches on the break (Foul 1)
2. Jill plays safe on the 1-ball
3. Jack doesn't make a legal hit on the 1-ball (Foul 2)
4. Jill pockets the 1-ball, 2-ball and 3-ball and then scratches trying to make the 4-ball
5. Jill notifies Jack that he's on two fouls
6. Jack pockets the 4-ball with BIH, but scratches trying to get shape on the 5-ball (Foul 3)
7. Jack loses the game due to the three foul rule
 
3 foul rule is just that. Anytime a player fouls 3 times in a row it's a loss of game. It's pretty clear and not sure how it can be questioned.

To put a twist on it where incoming player only loses if they do not try a shot at all ,,3 times in a row. Makes no sense really. What if they did try a shot and didn't get a good hit. Does that make it ok??
 
Here's the official rule straight from www.wpa-pool.com:

6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls
If a player fouls three times without making an intervening legal shot, it is a serious foul. In games scored by the rack, such as nine ball, the fouls must be in a single rack. Some games such as eight ball do not include this rule.
The referee must warn a shooter who is on two fouls when he comes to the table that he is on two fouls. Otherwise a possible third foul will be considered to be only the second.

It is fine for the opponent to make balls in between the fouls -- that doesn't "take you off the fouls." So, you scratch on the break at nine ball. Your opponent shoots in the 1 and 2, and since the 4 is locked up, he plays safe on the 3. You kick and get a bad hit, and knock the 4 loose as well. You are on two fouls. Your opponent runs down to the 8 and misses the 8 but leaves you frozen to the back of the 9. He warns you as you come to the table that you are on two fouls. You kick at the 8 and hit it, but the cue ball goes into a pocket. You lose.
 
... To put a twist on it where incoming player only loses if they do not try a shot at all ,,3 times in a row. ...
The rules do not permit this. If it is your turn to shoot, you must shoot a shot. You can't pass the shot by the official rules. Of course, if you're playing in a bar and nobody is being formal or strict, go with the flow.
 
3 foul rule is just that. Anytime a player fouls 3 times in a row it's a loss of game. It's pretty clear and not sure how it can be questioned.

To put a twist on it where incoming player only loses if they do not try a shot at all ,,3 times in a row. Makes no sense really. What if they did try a shot and didn't get a good hit. Does that make it ok??

Flash read it again,I said nothing about an incoming player losing without shooting.
I was questioning my friends definition as being the ONLY way the rule is applied,
because evidently (according to him) a player could pass his shot even with BIH.

The way you explain it could be why some people become confused.
(3 times in a row)could be interpreted as 3 times without opponent taking a shot.
Maybe you are an APA ref?:D

Thanks to all for responding.
 
Here's the official rule straight from www.wpa-pool.com:

6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls
If a player fouls three times without making an intervening legal shot, it is a serious foul. In games scored by the rack, such as nine ball, the fouls must be in a single rack. Some games such as eight ball do not include this rule.
The referee must warn a shooter who is on two fouls when he comes to the table that he is on two fouls. Otherwise a possible third foul will be considered to be only the second.

It is fine for the opponent to make balls in between the fouls -- that doesn't "take you off the fouls." So, you scratch on the break at nine ball. Your opponent shoots in the 1 and 2, and since the 4 is locked up, he plays safe on the 3. You kick and get a bad hit, and knock the 4 loose as well. You are on two fouls. Your opponent runs down to the 8 and misses the 8 but leaves you frozen to the back of the 9. He warns you as you come to the table that you are on two fouls. You kick at the 8 and hit it, but the cue ball goes into a pocket. You lose.

Bob thanks for your detailed response,that is the same way it was explained when I last played with this rule in effect.
 
Last edited:
I had a friend who thought the 3 foul rule meant his opponent had to play 3 safeties in a row. I explained to him that the opponent could play safe, make a ball, scratch, etc. as long as he fouled 3 times consecutively.

Example Playing 9-Ball:

1. Jack scratches on the break (Foul 1)
2. Jill plays safe on the 1-ball
3. Jack doesn't make a legal hit on the 1-ball (Foul 2)
4. Jill pockets the 1-ball, 2-ball and 3-ball and then scratches trying to make the 4-ball
5. Jill notifies Jack that he's on two fouls
6. Jack pockets the 4-ball with BIH, but scratches trying to get shape on the 5-ball (Foul 3)
7. Jack loses the game due to the three foul rule[/QUOTE

Samiel,that is a great example.
Thanks for the response.
 
Back
Top