Luv2RunOut1
Banned
apa is awesome
Last edited:
It is absolutely legal on an open break to play a safety and pocket a ball. But the ball pocketed on a safety is considered an illegally pocketed ball. There is no contradiction.Fore Rail said:So what I am getting from this discussion is even though a "safety" shot is defined as a legal shot, it is not legal on an open table after the break?
."
Fore Rail said:I'm saying that rule 4.10, 4.11 & 4.12 used in conjunction answer the original poster's question.![]()
Exactamundo.Rasta said:What I understood was that a pocket can be called or a safety can be called. Calling a safety and pocketing a ball is not a foul because it is a legal shot. A numbered ball makes contact with the rail or is pocketed. So it's not a foul. But it is also not a legally pocketed ball, because a safety was called instead of a pocket.
Good Rolls,
Rasta
Cornerman said:It is absolutely legal on an open break to play a safety and pocket a ball. But the ball pocketed on a safety is considered an illegally pocketed ball. There is no contradiction.
dzcues said:In our local leagues (both BCA & VNEA) a situation has come up that begs for a definitive rule clarification in the game of 8-Ball:
A shooter approaches an open table. He calls a safety and pockets a ball. He argues that, with this shot, he has also established his selection of stripes or solids.
Is he correct?
4.11 LEGAL SHOTCrankshaft said:+ + + + + + + + + + + + + +
To make a “safety shot” legally, shooter must hit “one of his group of balls first” ..........
Therefore, as pertains to the original poster’s question: the breaker, immediately after the break has not yet established his group of balls and cannot make a “legal safety shot” as his second shot.
Crankshaft
etimmons said:This rule in VNEA. You can call the ball and pocket and also call a safety and the balls are yours. Bob said VNEA should change their rule. I have a question why should you have to continue to shoot after you establish your balls? A safe can be played after you establish but now while you can? I think BCA has it wrong. I am a certifed ref in both BCA and VNEA and this one rule I think BCA has wrong and VNEA right.
The rule is not written down, it is their intrepretation. This was a question and answer in " eight ball news and views written by Mike Fowler, he is the rules head in Ohio. I have been personally involved in this call at the state and national tournaments. Sorry we disagree on the rule but I still like it over the bca rule.Tom In Cincy said:According to World Standard rule that the BCA adopted in 1999:
When you are playing 'call pocket' you have a choice to either call a 'ball and a pocket' or call 'safe'. You cannot call it both ways on a single shot, it has to be one or the other.
If the VNEA rule says you can call BOTH on the same shot, I agree with Bob Jewett, that that rule needs to be addressed.
If you call 'safe' your inning is over.
If you call a ball and a pocket and you are successful, your inning continues.
A 'safe' call does not meet the requirements for establishing a group of balls. I believe this is true in VNEA as well as WPA and BCA.
Would you be more specific in which section in the VNEA rules allows the shooter calling "ball in a pocket" and "safe" at the same time?
etimmons said:The rule is not written down, it is their intrepretation. This was a question and answer in " eight ball news and views written by Mike Fowler, he is the rules head in Ohio. I have been personally involved in this call at the state and national tournaments. Sorry we disagree on the rule but I still like it over the bca rule.