What happens if two of your balls lodge in a corner pocket and neither can be pocketed or removed? Same question if one is solid and one is stripe? Thanks
It's rare that neither can be pocketed if you shoot hard enough. But as the other post says, if a ball is hanging over the edge such that its neighbor is keeping it from dropping, the ball is considered pocketed.What happens if two of your balls lodge in a corner pocket and neither can be pocketed or removed? Same question if one is solid and one is stripe? Thanks
It's rare that neither can be pocketed if you shoot hard enough. But as the other post says, if a ball is hanging over the edge such that its neighbor is keeping it from dropping, the ball is considered pocketed.
This happened to me once and the answer I received from AZB was that if the bottom edge of the ball breaks the plane of the slate, the ball is considered pocketed.
Here's a photo I took during the match:
We placed a cue ball next to the pocket just for reference for the photo.
This happened to me once and the answer I received from AZB was that if the bottom edge of the ball breaks the plane of the slate, the ball is considered pocketed.
Here's a photo I took during the match:
We placed a cue ball next to the pocket just for reference for the photo.
Here's a photo I took during the match:
We placed a cue ball next to the pocket just for reference for the phfoto.
Bob,
Do you have this technique illustrated (or on video) anywhere? I find that the two balls wedged in (but yet not overhanging the pocket comes up on the Diamond tables.
If you mean the referee's technique to be used to determine in/out, then no. I think most Diamonds are built such that the balls can't wedge where they would otherwise drop -- they are always on the flat of the bed.
No, I was referring to your comment that it is rare that two balls wedge such that you can't at least make one of the them if you shoot hard enough. My question is how you do that?
My reference to the Diamond was precisely because two balls do wedge in the pocket mouth and NOT overhanging (cleary's recent post in the table recovering thread showing two balls in the jaws of his pocket is a good illustration).
What happens if two of your balls lodge in a corner pocket...