Reading u on 9-ball rules in the BCA rule book (WPA WSR), but I don't understand excatly what happens in a pushout. I understand it only happens after a break if the breaker makes a ball but then is stuck on his next shot. How exactly does it work?
I ask because I want to put on a 9-ball tourney next month, and want to understand the rule properly, and whether or not to allow it.
The breaker does not need to make a ball, nor does he have to be "stuck" on the next shot. You can make a ball, and be able to see the next shot but can push out if you don't think you can get anything good from shooting. If the breaker does not make a ball, the incoming player can push out as his first shot if he can see the first ball or not.
Not allowing the rule is silly unless you also take away the 3 foul rule. Otherwise you end up where the breaker makes nothing, the incoming player has to kick or something, and could end up on 1 foul already just because the other guy did not sink a ball. You're punishing the other player because the breaker did not sink a ball.
I would also take away 9 on the break as a win, at least not in the lower 2 pockets. With people that don't know how to play or rack well that 9 ball will shoot towards a corner pocket almost every time.