9-Ball question

I don't think rule 6.3 addresses the scenario I described. Rule 6.3 No Rail AFTER CONTACT, to me, means that after the cue ball contacts the object ball, either the cue ball or object ball must hit the rail - if I am misinterpreting that please explain. I am asking about when there is NO CONTACT. Where is the stated that if the cue ball does not contact any ball (object ball, wrong ball) it is a foul. Or are you saying that the rule 6.3 implies that if the cue ball does not make contact with the object ball it cannot hit a rail after contact - because there was no contact - therefore the No Rail After Contact kicks in? (And no, I'm not a recovering lawyer!)

Pretty simple. The rule for 9 ball is, you have to hit the lowest numbered ball. If you hit NOTHING, that is NOT hitting the lowest numbered ball so it's a foul. Not contacting a ball on a hit is a foul in any game I can think of aside from special situations like a push.
 
Question: Can you hit ANY object ball during a 'push out' ? (legal push out - declared immediately after the break)

I normally dont hit any balls during a legal push out - but just wondering... to be sure, to be sure...

Thanx
Cheers.
 
Question: Can you hit ANY object ball during a 'push out' ? (legal push out - declared immediately after the break)

I normally dont hit any balls during a legal push out - but just wondering... to be sure, to be sure...

Thanx
Cheers.

Yes, at least that's the way I've always played and the way I've seen it played.
 
Question: Can you hit ANY object ball during a 'push out' ? (legal push out - declared immediately after the break)

I normally dont hit any balls during a legal push out - but just wondering... to be sure, to be sure...

Thanx
Cheers.


You can hit any ball, or pocket any ball on a push out...
 
Question: Can you hit ANY object ball during a 'push out' ? (legal push out - declared immediately after the break)

I normally dont hit any balls during a legal push out - but just wondering... to be sure, to be sure...

Thanx
Cheers.

Yes, any ball or none at all even, the rules about hitting a ball and a rail are suspended during a push. As the poster above stated, you may also pocket a ball, which comes in handy if you can't see the lowest # ball but the 9 is hanging in a pocket waiting for an easy combo. It may be a good move to call a push, pocket and stop the 9 and go from there.

The only rule is that you need to stroke the cueball with a legal stroke (so no pushing it with your hand or the side of the shaft). Aside from the obvious rules like keeping the cueball on the table and can't push into a pocket, that gives the other player ball in hand.
 
On a push after the break the only thing you can't do is sink the cue ball. Everything else would be a legal shot.
 
Back
Top