9-ball ruling

curly

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
At the local hall a situation came up in 9-ball. Player A broke and made a ball on the break and the 9 ball was hanging in the corner pocket. The 2 ball was about 6 or so inches from the 9 ball. He shot the one ball and made it and the cueball came between the 9 and the 2 ball. So, Player A jacked up and attempted a billiard on the 9 ball with the cueball after hitting the 2 ball. Well, in the process, Player A cuestick knocked the 9 ball into the pocket accidentally. So, what happens when Player B is to shoot? Where does the 9-ball get placed on the table and is it a foul since it was a money ball? Player A says that it isn't a foul cuz there isn't any fouls on object balls, only the cue ball. Player B grabbed the cue ball and Player A shouts "FOUL" on Player B. Was it a foul so the 9 gets spotted or does it get placed where it rested before it was knocked into the pocket? Does Player B get cue ball in hand?
Thanks,
Curly
 
Neil said:
If it is cueball fouls only, then it is not a foul. The nine gets put back as close to possible to where it was. No ball in hand.
I'm not sure you are right about that. The nine was in the path of the shot, or at least the intende path, which might make this a foul. If it is a foul, the question is whether the nine should be replaced near the pocket or spotted. I think it should be replaced but I don't have printed rules in front of me.
 
Neil said:
It wasn't really clear by his post if it actually was in the way of the shot. It seems that if it was, he would have scratched. But, if the cueball did indeed go through where the 9 was, then , yes, it would be a foul, ball-in-hand, and the 9 put back where it was.

The cueball was between the 2 and the 9. He accidently hit the 9 in the pocket with his cue stick while drawing the cueball off the 2 ball. The cueball remained on the table.

CueTable Help

 
Last edited:
Number one, the nine gets put back up as closely as possible to where it was. Player B gets to replace it. I would call this a foul. It is one thing to barely move an object ball and quite another to make it in a pocket. Typically in tournament play, when you are playing cue ball fouls only, it refers to the incidental minor movement of an object ball while shooting.

When two or more object balls are moved or the movement of an object ball in any way affects the outcome of the shot, that should be called a foul. Dropping it in a pocket is no longer incidental movement in my estimation. Not all officials would rule this way however. I have no idea what the BCA/WPA rule is on this situation. I think it is a judgement call, and I would call it a foul.
 
Good points:

Not a foul if cue ball would not have hit 9 ball;
foul if cue ball would have hit 9 ball (or even came close)( but as Neil mentioned, the cue ball may have scratched if it would have traveled through the 9 ball);
replace 9 ball where it was in any case.

Jay, the only thing I see wrong with your theory is...you said "It is one thing to barely move an object ball and quite another to make it in a pocket." Couldn't that 9 ball be hanging in the pocket by it's shadow where only a slight movement would have plunged the ball into the depths of the pocket? I think incidental movement has nothing to do with where the pocket is...just a coincidence that the pocket was that close.

Sounds like accidental contact to me so I would rule no foul on the hit...where the cue ball traveled is another story.

Anyway, that's my opinion...and everybody knows what opinions are like...

L8R...Ken
 
Nobody has answered this question fully yet. Remember that the incoming shooter picked up the cueball calling foul on something that wasn't a foul.

I would say that the shooter would get to put the 9 ball back where it was and then take ball in hand since his opponent mistakenly picked up the cueball.
 
curly said:
At the local hall a situation came up in 9-ball. Player A broke and made a ball on the break and the 9 ball was hanging in the corner pocket. The 2 ball was about 6 or so inches from the 9 ball. He shot the one ball and made it and the cueball came between the 9 and the 2 ball. So, Player A jacked up and attempted a billiard on the 9 ball with the cueball after hitting the 2 ball. Well, in the process, Player A cuestick knocked the 9 ball into the pocket accidentally. So, what happens when Player B is to shoot? Where does the 9-ball get placed on the table and is it a foul since it was a money ball? Player A says that it isn't a foul cuz there isn't any fouls on object balls, only the cue ball. Player B grabbed the cue ball and Player A shouts "FOUL" on Player B. Was it a foul so the 9 gets spotted or does it get placed where it rested before it was knocked into the pocket? Does Player B get cue ball in hand?
Thanks,
Curly
different scenarios..
1. nine ball spots back up in corner pocket..no foul
2.if cue ball drew back off the two and WOULD have touched then nine if it was there, then it was in the path of the cue ball..foul..player 2 gets ball in hand..
3. if cue ball would have not touched the nine..and player 2 grabs cue ball thinking it was a foul...its a foul on player 2..player 1 gets ball in hand with 9 ball spotted back in its original position..
4. but what i can see its gonna end up ugly with a bunch of arguing...just play the game over cuz neither player is gonna give the other ball in hand with then nine spotted in the corner pocket with an easy combo!
 
Luxury said:
Nobody has answered this question fully yet. Remember that the incoming shooter picked up the cueball calling foul on something that wasn't a foul.

I would say that the shooter would get to put the 9 ball back where it was and then take ball in hand since his opponent mistakenly picked up the cueball.


It's very simple.. If an object ball is moved and either the cue ball or another object ball comes through the path of the moved ball it's a foul. If this didn't happen it's not a foul and the opponent has the option of leaving the ball where it is or move it back to where it was.. The 9 ball get spotted back up where it was, which in this case was in the pocket. There's no ball in hand. Now the incoming player picks up the cue ball calling it a foul, Which it was not a foul, Meaning he has fouled by picking up the cue ball and gives up ball in hand. There you have it...
 
Last edited:
Easy answer in Texas Xpress 9-ball.

Was the cueball going through the area where the 9-ball had been. If so.....Foul

If the cueball was not back in that 9-ball area...No Foul.....SPF=randyg
 
Back
Top