9 Ball Spots

opinion ...

The 8 is the wild 8 unless you specify the called 8 always.
Restrictions of a condition have to be stated and specific.

Just another reason to get everything spelled out specifically
about spots, rules, etc. before playing someone.
 
ScottR said:
I'm still not clear . . . . the last two at all times on the table? In VAP's example, the spot-ee is breaking and makes the 8, does he/she win?

How about after an empty break by the spot-ee, the spot-er runs down to the 7 and the 9 and misses, making a combo on the 8 during the run. Is the 7 now a money ball for the incoming spot-ee?

I'm not "what-if"-ing for fun. I have been involved and seen serious fights about this definition in different parts of the country. Thanks.

Hey Scott, someone might have answered your question by now. I haven’t scrolled down to find out. But to clear things up, the spotee doesn’t win by making the 8 on the break when given the last two. And in your second example, the incoming player would win if they made either the 7 or 9 during his/her shot.

It’s always a good idea to clarify the rules and/or spot definitions before play.

Rick
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Funny thing, up north, when I give someone the 8, it's implied that it's called-shot, never wild. When I go south of Jersey, it's implied that it's wild, never called. When I was gambling in Fairfax, I had to learn how to rack in such a way that they didn't make that thing on every break! The fellas were nice though. They actually would remind me when I racked it on the corner.

Yeah, down south we assume it’s the wild 8 unless we’re playing a northerner. :D

I'm sure you're aware, the normal position would be to rack the wild ball behind the 1 ball. But with one particular break that ball can be made across side to the side pocket. If it happens too often I’ll start racking the wild ball ahead of the bottom ball.

Rick
 
hustlefinger said:
Hey Scott, someone might have answered your question by now. I haven’t scrolled down to find out. But to clear things up, the spotee doesn’t win by making the 8 on the break when given the last two. And in your second example, the incoming player would win if they made either the 7 or 9 during his/her shot.

It’s always a good idea to clarify the rules and/or spot definitions before play.

Rick

I always thought it was like this, but a guy I played said that the "last two" part didn't take effect until there are only two balls on the table. This was also confirmed by several in the pool hall at the time. I guess all the more reason to make sure the rules and spots are explicitly spelled out.
 
WOW, ya'll have me seeing crossed eyed! I never realized that there was such confusion on the last two. Maybe it's regional, I don't know.... I grew up just a couple of hours away from Marissa and just like her area, where I'm from the last two is just that... the last two balls on the table. When you break the balls, there's 9 of them on the table... hence, only the 9 ball wins on the break. Tony Watson, Shannon Daulton, Cliff Joyner, Tony Ellin, Danny Harriman... all of these guys played in my area, and to them, the last two was simply the last two balls on the table. That's it.
 
zeeder said:
I always thought that the last two was where, at any time, if you made the nine or the ball before it then you won. However, I was playing a guy that was spotting me the last two and when I made a combo on the 8 I started rolling the other balls to be racked. He then informed me, along with others in the hall, that the last two doesn't come into play until there are only two balls on the table. I'm glad to see I wasn't the only one confused with this particular spot!
Thank you, Z. Glad I'm not the only one who's run into this.
 
hustlefinger said:
Yeah, down south we assume it’s the wild 8 unless we’re playing a northerner. :D

I'm sure you're aware, the normal position would be to rack the wild ball behind the 1 ball. But with one particular break that ball can be made across side to the side pocket. If it happens too often I’ll start racking the wild ball ahead of the bottom ball.

Rick

Yeah, I learned that trick the hard way! LOL :p
 
Back
Top