An unusual foul called on me, anyone know this rule?

koston08 said:
I was playing 9 ball and I had miscued on a draw shot, causing the ball to jump up. I did hit the lowest numbered ball on the table, the correct ball. My opponent claimed that even though it was a miscue, I had performed an illegal jump shot, and told me it was ball in hand. I was a little confused about this because I have never in my time playing seen this called on anyone else before on a miscue. I know players cant scoop the ball to do a jump shot, but for a miscue? Is this really ball in hand?

Hey Guys,
I didn't read the whole thread, so I apoligize if this point has been mentioned..
Only way I can see someone even thinking of calling this a foul is as follows..

Attempting to take a clear shot.. The miscue makes the cueball take an alternate path by jumping over another ball proceeding around the table and making a good hit.. In a stretch someone could have said it was an illegal scoop over an object ball to make a good hit..
Still very shady in my opinion..
Best,
Ken
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigardave
Find me footage that's applicable... that certainly is not. The tip has not been chalked. Get real, dude.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Yes it is..........dude. And if you didn't like that one...try this one.

http://www.sfbilliards.com/articles/1999-04.pdf

See Figure 3 and pay close attention to Mr. Jewett's caption which states that BOTH the ferrule and the shaft contact the CB...which is what makes the clicking sound.

Your assertion that such a sound is produced by the tip is ludicrous.

And if the tip contacts the CB above the maximum tip offset zone, it makes no difference if the tip is chalked or not...which is why it is referred to as a "maximum" offset zone.

Get real yourself...."dude."

Jim
 
Back
Top