APA rules question

I have read the book, and did a search on here to no avail. In the APA, is it legal to place your tip under the edge of the cue ball and just raise it? Example- ob very near the rail, and cb very near the ob. Just raising your cue under the cb will make the cb go forward a hair, hitting the ob, making the ob hit the rail.

I know it's not legal by other rules, but what about the APA?

According to my L.O. it is a perferctly legal shot. I have actually used it a few times myself and seen a couple of the other high end players do it as well.

Leagueguy
 
To the best of my knowledge, it is a legal hit.

This technique was shown to several of us one immediately following matches by our own LO.

There is nothing in the book that states that the cue itself has to be used in a forward motion.

By just simply raising the tip of the cue to contact the CB to the OB to the rail is a legal hit.
 
On an aside note, with a little practice, raising your bridge hand (but leaving it cupped on the table) and jacking up a touch, you can concentrate on hitting the air just under the CB's equator. This enables a forward stroke that pretty much accomplishes the same thing. An ever so light touch of the CB as it brushes it on its path forward and down. It's a little short stroke that I often follow up with dragging my bridge hand off to the side and away from the CB.

Thought I'd share this, it may work for others also when you get a little used to doing it, and it removes the concern of being called out on a foul.
 
Back
Top