Bob Jewett said:No. The 45-degree thing is totally bogus. There is no double hit if the cue ball is frozen to the object ball.
Please get a copy of the rules and read them. Also, please read the other thread on "Push Shot Fouls."
The APA rules are on-line at http://www.poolplayers.com/8-9-ball-Rules.pdf but be warned that they are not particularly complete or well written. (Not that the current BCA/WPA rules are much clearer, but they are more complete.)
From what I've heard, the theory is basically that with a frozen ball, it would be impossible to make contact without making a double hit. Of course this would be looking at the shot microscopicly broken down into millimeter segments or even smaller. Thus APA, BCA, and WPA and other rule sets have made exclusions to the double hit foul in this situation.