Apa rules?!?!?

The Captain

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Question for ya based on your league experience... 2 balls jammed in the pocket.... What's the call? I have a league manager on Monday saying... Pick up one ball, and if the other drops, it's down. My understanding is that they're both considered down. You NEVER pick up an object ball!
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 523
That over-simplifies things a bit much. Hanging a bit over the hole does not mean they would fall if not jammed together. One ball should be more than 50% over the opening for it to be "in" and having both doped in because "some edge" is over the whole would change games. They need to define what "leaning over the edge of the slate" means, is it any part of the ball, more than half? I mean a ball may be leaning over the edge if it's about a sliver over depending on how you define "lean".

Both balls should be hanging over in air when jammed for both balls, or even one to be considered "in" unless the rule makers think it's OK to drop one in and then re-position the other ball where it was sitting before.

The WPA rules state that if the ball "would" drop (not do actually do it) if the other was removed then it's considered pocketed. It does not just state that if the edge of the balls are over the lip but they are jammed that they are both in.
 
That over-simplifies things a bit much. Hanging a bit over the hole does not mean they would fall if not jammed together. One ball should be more than 50% over the opening for it to be "in" and having both doped in because "some edge" is over the whole would change games. They need to define what "leaning over the edge of the slate" means, is it any part of the ball, more than half? I mean a ball may be leaning over the edge if it's about a sliver over depending on how you define "lean".

Both balls should be hanging over in air when jammed for both balls, or even one to be considered "in" unless the rule makers think it's OK to drop one in and then re-position the other ball where it was sitting before.

The WPA rules state that if the ball "would" drop (not do actually do it) if the other was removed then it's considered pocketed. It does not just state that if the edge of the balls are over the lip but they are jammed that they are both in.

I understand that, and COMPLETELY agree, based on MY interpretation of the paragraph. I was just mystified that a league rep and league manager would say that you "lift one to see if the other falls"
 
APA and tight pocket tables don't mix.
 

Attachments

  • 2013-09-19 19.36.04.jpg
    2013-09-19 19.36.04.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 447
According to that picture... My useless league rep/manager says... Pull the cue ball and if the other drops, you replace the cue ball and play it as though it's good.

He means if you pick up the cue ball and the other ball falls, the cue ball is down. In the picture above, both are considered pocketed.
 
Balls leaning over the edge is considered pocketed.

Leaning over the edge means that the axis point (base) of the ball at the table is beyond the edge of the playing surface, as shown in the picture above, to were the ball would fall if the other was not holding it up. Both of those balls are pocketed in the picture.

Your league rep is a moron to say remove the cue ball and if the other falls put it back and play it. Once you touch that cue ball you have fouled. There is no rule allowing for you to pickup and replace the cue ball at anytime without a foul being committed.

Probably the best way to look at this is the head line rule. If a foul occurs on the break you can only shoot at a ball that is "out" of the head string line and you can only place the cue ball "in" within respect to that line. Balls are considered "out" if the middle or base of the ball is centered or beyond that head line.
 
Last edited:
Just curious - I've played in the APA for a long time and on all sorts of "interesting" equipment that the APA allows. In all the years I've played APA I've never seen this happen. It's an interesting question, but has anyone (referencing an APA match) ever seen this happen?
 
Just curious - I've played in the APA for a long time and on all sorts of "interesting" equipment that the APA allows. In all the years I've played APA I've never seen this happen. It's an interesting question, but has anyone (referencing an APA match) ever seen this happen?

I've seen it a few times.
 
So, I'm stripes and my opponent takes a shot that sends the balls scattering in no particular direction and just before 8 rolls in for a loss one of my stripes wedges against it leaving both dangling over the pocket supporting each other above the precipice. "Drop them in and resume playing the game unless the pocketing ends the game." Does this mean the game is over because they are considered pocketed or does this mean that you do not drop them in because that would end the game (and in the latter case, what's my out?)? I think it ends the game but the rule can be read either way.

If you actually read the rules it specifically says: Drop them in and resume playing the game unless the pocketing ends the game.
 
Last edited:
What is the name of this APA league operator or rep that is telling you this?

In my area if I can see the ball then it's not DOWN. Squeezed together maybe, awkward to hit maybe, almost sure foul (depending on position of other interferring balls) for next shooter maybe. But not DOWN.
 
What is the name of this APA league operator or rep that is telling you this?

In my area if I can see the ball then it's not DOWN. Squeezed together maybe, awkward to hit maybe, almost sure foul (depending on position of other interferring balls) for next shooter maybe. But not DOWN.

Those are the official national rules - balls are pocketed.
 
What is the name of this APA league operator or rep that is telling you this?

In my area if I can see the ball then it's not DOWN. Squeezed together maybe, awkward to hit maybe, almost sure foul (depending on position of other interferring balls) for next shooter maybe. But not DOWN.

You are not following APA rules

Kim
 
Just curious - I've played in the APA for a long time and on all sorts of "interesting" equipment that the APA allows. In all the years I've played APA I've never seen this happen. It's an interesting question, but has anyone (referencing an APA match) ever seen this happen?

Just another reason for APA to go to Diamond Pro-Cut tables. You cant jaw 2 balls like that, they wont fit.
 
Back
Top