Are These Fouls?

DrCue'sProtege

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Situation #1:
say the cue ball is about 1/2" from the '6' Ball and you are shooting at the '3' Ball. after you shoot your cue nudges the '6' Ball. is that a foul? if not, what happens?

Situation #2:
lets say you are attempting to pocket the '2' Ball, and are shooting a draw shot to pull it back for the '3' Ball. you accidentally "scoop" the cue ball, but the '2' Ball still goes in. is this a foul?

thanks for any responses,
DCP
 
#1 If you are playing all balls foul, yes it's a foul. If you are playing cueball fouls only, your opponent has the option to leave the 6 or put it back. If you put the 6 back before your opponent has any say, it's a foul.

#2 Even though your ferrule did hit the cueball, it's not a foul. It would only be a foul if you were to intentionally jump over a ball with the scoop stroke.
 
DrCue'sProtege said:
Situation #1:
say the cue ball is about 1/2" from the '6' Ball and you are shooting at the '3' Ball. after you shoot your cue nudges the '6' Ball. is that a foul? if not, what happens?

Situation #2:
lets say you are attempting to pocket the '2' Ball, and are shooting a draw shot to pull it back for the '3' Ball. you accidentally "scoop" the cue ball, but the '2' Ball still goes in. is this a foul?

thanks for any responses,
DCP

#1- No, it is only a foul if the path of the cueball and the path of the inadvertantly moved ball intersect. The opponent has the choice to either move the ball back to where it was, or to leave it where it is.

#2- Yes, scooping causes the ferrule to touch the ball, but I rarely see this foul called.
"STRIKING CUE BALL- Legal shots require that the cue ball be struck only with the cue tip. Failure to meet this requirement is a foul." - This quote is the same for both the BCA official rules, and for the WPBA official rules.
 
Last edited:
First off, it's great to see a DCP thread again, I've missed these discussions about pool.

I think the other replys covered these situations well, but I had a rather strange twist on #1 during my last 9Ball league match. My opponent took a power shot ( on the 3 ball?) and in the process his bridge hand came off the table hard and he 'moved' a couple of balls ... with the 7 ball slamming into the side pocket ! He missed his shot, and I did not call foul 'cause he just hit these other balls with his hand. We left the 7 ball down because I believe that no ball other than the 9 should ever be spotted. Was this correct ?

Dave, a happy camper looking forward to good pool dicussions in upcoming DCP threads
 
DaveK said:
First off, it's great to see a DCP thread again, I've missed these discussions about pool.

I think the other replys covered these situations well, but I had a rather strange twist on #1 during my last 9Ball league match. My opponent took a power shot ( on the 3 ball?) and in the process his bridge hand came off the table hard and he 'moved' a couple of balls ... with the 7 ball slamming into the side pocket ! He missed his shot, and I did not call foul 'cause he just hit these other balls with his hand. We left the 7 ball down because I believe that no ball other than the 9 should ever be spotted. Was this correct ?

Dave, a happy camper looking forward to good pool dicussions in upcoming DCP threads

I too thought it was nice to see DCP back.

DCP, I hope in your time off the board you've discovered games other than 9-ball to play. In the end it will make you a better all around player.
 
DrCue'sProtege said:
Situation #1:
say the cue ball is about 1/2" from the '6' Ball and you are shooting at the '3' Ball. after you shoot your cue nudges the '6' Ball. is that a foul? if not, what happens?

Situation #2:
lets say you are attempting to pocket the '2' Ball, and are shooting a draw shot to pull it back for the '3' Ball. you accidentally "scoop" the cue ball, but the '2' Ball still goes in. is this a foul?

thanks for any responses,
DCP
The first depends on which rules you're playing by. Which rules are you using?

The second has been played in official, refereed tournaments both ways, fair and foul. I think the current trend is to rule it as a fair shot, although clumsy and inept.
 
DaveK said:
(Clumsy, enthusiastic player knocks an extraneous ball into the pocket with his hand) ... We left the 7 ball down because I believe that no ball other than the 9 should ever be spotted. Was this correct ?...
No. I think the correct rule is to give you your choice of leaving the ball where it is or putting it back where it was. The problem is what to do for leaving it where it is. I think it should be spotted.

The proposed revision of the World Standardized Rules do not have any provision for "cue ball fouls only." I'm told that even in unrefereed tournaments in Europe and Asia, all fouls are called. I think that's the right way to play.
 
desert1pocket said:
#1- No, it is only a foul if the path of the cueball and the path of the inadvertantly moved ball intersect. The opponent has the choice to either move the ball back to where it was, or to leave it where it is.

#2- Yes, scooping causes the ferrule to touch the ball, but I rarely see this foul called.
"STRIKING CUE BALL- Legal shots require that the cue ball be struck only with the cue tip. Failure to meet this requirement is a foul." - This quote is the same for both the BCA official rules, and for the WPBA official rules.


The only problem I see with calling #2 a foul, is that if this is truly the case then almost any miscue is a foul.
Unless it is done intentionally, and of course that is a subjective call, it should not be called a foul.

But again, like others of have said, it depends on what the players have agreed upon.

JMHO
 
Bob Jewett said:
No. I'm told that even in unrefereed tournaments in Europe and Asia, all fouls are called. I think that's the right way to play.

Bob -

You are correct. I have played in and watched unrefereed tournaments in Asia and all fouls are called, usually by the player committing the foul.

Most informal games played between two reasonably skilled players are played the same way, all fouls. Sometimes the opponent will say "Oh, that's OK go ahead", but the player usually recognizes and calls his own foul. As it should be.
 
Back
Top