Ball in hand foul

Last night, when repositioning the cue ball with ball in hand, I put my cue on top of the ball to pull it towards me. The other player claimed that the tip touched the ball and that was a foul. This clearly contradicts WPA and BCA rules.

"Players may use any part of the cue stick to move the cue ball,
including the tip, but not with a forward stroke motion."

Another guy was claiming that if the ferrule touched the ball it was a foul. Is this some customary rule that I'm not aware of? It seems like if you are claiming a rule in a published rule set is wrong, you should be able to point to a rule that is correct, I don't care if it's a handwritten piece of paper tape to the wall.
Last year while referring at the ACS nationals in Vegas at the Tropicana, this below was Thee most common fault.

1.1 Player’s Responsibility

It is the player’s responsibility to be aware of all rules
, regulations and schedules applying to competition. While tournament officials will make every reasonable effort to have such information readily available to all players as appropriate, the ultimate responsibility rests with the player.

It's the first rule at the beginning of the rule book.

bm
 
  • Love
Reactions: bbb
Only problem is most 14.1'rs are only minutes from complete fossilization. ;) Great game but its deader than Elvis.
I know a couple of guys that play it very occasionally. Nobody plays it because nobody else plays it. People focus on the more popular games but they enjoy the game when they try it. My new years resolution is to get my friends playing 14.1 this year! I'm going to start tracking down the old timers and learn from the source.
 
Back
Top