balls frozen...what to do?

androd said:
when someone calls a foul on me ,i just put one up or forfeit the shot or whatever. anyone who wants to argue about push shots or some such has got a bad game.

Yep, I usually end up beating the ones who like to argue.
 
lol, huh?

senor said:
Yep, I usually end up beating the ones who like to argue.

well, not for nothing but I think my game is a far cry from bad...and so do alot of others in my city. And I'll argue with anyone who thinks something isn't a foul, when it clearly is. I've just never played by BCA rules, always by VNEA I guess, so when it came down to who was or was not right according to the houseman, I simply paid, packed up my stuff, and left. I will never let that happen again, that's for sure...but rules were NEVER discussed prior to the match, I just assumed we were playing the way it's always been in Erie,PA...But now that I know how they play there, I won't be looking for any money games. I'll just chalk it up to being my fault and be done with it :D LESSON LEARNED!!!
 
dukeboy1977 said:
well, not for nothing but I think my game is a far cry from bad...and so do alot of others in my city. And I'll argue with anyone who thinks something isn't a foul, when it clearly is. I've just never played by BCA rules, always by VNEA I guess, so when it came down to who was or was not right according to the houseman, I simply paid, packed up my stuff, and left. I will never let that happen again, that's for sure...but rules were NEVER discussed prior to the match, I just assumed we were playing the way it's always been in Erie,PA...But now that I know how they play there, I won't be looking for any money games. I'll just chalk it up to being my fault and be done with it :D LESSON LEARNED!!!
i didn't mean your playing was bad, i meant if you let one call make you quit, you weren't matched up right. also i don't know anything about BCA or VNEA rules so maybe i shoudn't comment, but now you know the rule so why not continue to play. i luv pool and am sure you do as well. don't let rules get to you.
rodney
 
androd said:
i didn't mean your playing was bad, i meant if you let one call make you quit, you weren't matched up right. don't let rules get to you.
rodney

But rules are the only thing ya' have on a pool table, so they're necessary. Obviously we should have discussed rules prior to playing, but I assumed we both knew what was and was not the proper way of playing, and didn't need to. I didn't even think that this would come into play, but it did, so I paid and "wrote it off" as being my mistake. I wasn't even aware there were differences like this between the rules, but now I'm aware, and it just makes me sick that this has to be discussed when gambling...so maybe my gambling days should be over? It was never worth the hassle anyways, so no sweat off my back if I don't.
 
dukeboy1977 said:
But now that I know how they play there, I won't be looking for any money games. I'll just chalk it up to being my fault and be done with it :D LESSON LEARNED!!!

Or, instead of being done with it, you can mess around with shooting frozen OB/CB, and learn a little something. If the shot falls w/in the rules, I think that would be the right thing to do. Cause when the situation does arise it would be good to know if you can pocket the OB some kind of way, and where is the CB going.
 
rule

dukeboy1977 said:
I had a bad match tonight so I'm asking you cause maybe the rules have changed or something. If you have the cueball and the object ball frozen together in 9-ball, isn't it still a foul to hit the balls straight on? It always has been as long as I've been playing but I'm told that in BCA rules, it is no longer a foul cause of too many arguments about being at a 45 degree angle, etc...The counter-guy even told me that the pro's are now playing like this, and even though I believe I'm right, I paid the guy but I quit playing and left. My argument was that if it's no longer a foul cause of the 45 degree issue, it's STILL a "push" or "double hit" if the cueball travels on the same path as the object ball more than a couple inches. So, what's the real issue guys? Maybe another opinion would be beneficial for me.
If you are playing texas express, if you both agree that they are frozen. you may shoot through them as long the cue tip stayes on the qb no longer than a normal stroke. i would get a call of the shoot from TD.:D
 
dukeboy1977 said:
I had a bad match tonight so I'm asking you cause maybe the rules have changed or something. If you have the cueball and the object ball frozen together in 9-ball, isn't it still a foul to hit the balls straight on? It always has been as long as I've been playing but I'm told that in BCA rules, it is no longer a foul cause of too many arguments about being at a 45 degree angle, etc...The counter-guy even told me that the pro's are now playing like this, and even though I believe I'm right, I paid the guy but I quit playing and left. My argument was that if it's no longer a foul cause of the 45 degree issue, it's STILL a "push" or "double hit" if the cueball travels on the same path as the object ball more than a couple inches. So, what's the real issue guys? Maybe another opinion would be beneficial for me.

balls frozen...what to do

First gently cup them in your hands, and rub them very gently and slowly, until you can urinate normally!!!:) It normally take one to two hour's, if done correctly you should not get a rise in your Levi's!!!!!!;)
 
According to all the current rules I know in BCA and APA, if the balls are frozen then a straight-through shot is legal.

Slightly off topic but this reminded me of an interesting technique to avoid a foul if the balls aren't frozen though and you need to shoot the shot straight for whatever reason. Probably many people know of this, but for those who haven't seen it:

close-shot.gif


Put your shooting arm into the position it would be in at the absolute end of your stroke so that it is physically impossible to move your back arm any further forward. Your bicep should be fairly tight so you know the stick will not travel past the point it is currently at.

Then put the tip of the cue offset from center CB and move it up to where it is almost touching the CB (faded image above). Once you have that set, pull the stick back a bit and align the tip to center CB, then stroke the shot.

Since center CB is slightly closer to you than the point on the CB where you originally aligned the stick, you will hit the CB and the stick will stop before it double-hits due to the fact that the stick cannot travel to the point of the (now) stopped CB and hit it again because it has traveled forward to the physical limit that your arm will allow it to travel (which is ,if judged right, before it can reach the CB again).

1/8" might be pretty close to the limit for this technique to be practical, but maybe with some practice maybe 1/16" wouldn't be unreasonable. (Probably pushing it though.)

It's pretty rare that such a scenario comes up, and if it's a tournament you'd probably want to get a ref to watch it so your opponent can't claim it was a foul based simply on proximity, but it's nice to have in the toolkit when it does come up, IMHO.
 
Back
Top