BCA 8 Ball rules question

md5key

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have two questions, maybe you guys can help out with these:

1. You have a combo into the corner. You are going to hit the 1 ball, the 1 ball will then hit the 2 ball into the corner. So you call it "Combo 1-2 in the corner". Somehow you completely miss the 1 ball and hit the 2 ball directly with the cue ball and the 2 goes into the assigned pocket. Is this a foul? Does the opponent get ball in hand? Do you get to continue shooting?

2. You call the 1 ball in the corner, no combo or anything. You miss the 1 ball (due to a very thin cut or something) and the cue ball hits another one of your balls first. You don't make anything, so obviously your turn is over, but is this a foul? Does the opponent get ball in hand?

I'm hoping this will clear up some confusion with the group I play with.
 
Neither are fouls.

1) You made the ball you called and you made a legal hit, shoot again.

2) Legal hit, inning over, opponents turn where the cue ball lies.
 
1. To avoid confusion, simply call the ball and pocket. In this situation, you should have said, "Two ball in the corner." That's all that's necessary.

2. The second secnario, as stated by stuckart, no foul, inning over.
 
As has been already stated, it's call ball and pocket. Doesn't matter how it gets there.
 
md5key said:
2. You call the 1 ball in the corner, no combo or anything. You miss the 1 ball (due to a very thin cut or something) and the cue ball hits another one of your balls first. You don't make anything, so obviously your turn is over, but is this a foul? Does the opponent get ball in hand?

Jude is correct on question #1, calling the ball & pocket is the key to reducing the confusion to begin with.

On 2 though, you did not clarify if any ball or the cue ball contacts a rail. That would make a difference. Other than that, 8-ball, as long as you contact any of your balls first (regardless of the ball called), and proceed to pocket a ball or contact a rail after the hit, it would not be a foul. No rail or no ball pocketed would be a foul.
 
md5key said:
Thanks! Anyone else have an opinion?

Everybody's got an opinion...

...but everybody whose opinion is correct, agrees with the first two replies you got. That's the right answer.

-Andrew
 
When i was in Vegas this year i was told that all combo"s and bank shots should be called. The way i took it was you need to clarify your intentions to your opponent but some may interpret the rule as differant such as in this scenario. You have correcly called the combo and you made a good hit on your ball we don"t know if you hit rail but you pocketed the two ball that was your "intent". Their was no foul because of a good hit and you pocketed the called ball you should continue shooting.
 
Yea I have one

md5key said:
Thanks! Anyone else have an opinion?

What the first guy said.

Anytime you hit one of your balls first, and drive a ball to a rail after contact, it's a legal hit.
As for the combo's or even banks, call the ball and what pocket. If you're banking a ball cross-side, and it hits another ball, goes 6 rails and goes into the designated pocket, it's a good shot. Actually, it's a GREAT!!!! shot. Should irritate the person you're playing and give you a definate advantage.
 
As Satman said..."Actually, it's a GREAT!!!! shot"...that caron/6-railer would be a "shot of the match" in some of the TV games. I can't believe some of those that they pick. Some are really well executed skilful shots, but some are a lot of luck.

BTW, I agree with all of the 'opinions' posted here about your situation...seems to be the rule.

L8R...Ken
 
bullshooter69 said:
When i was in Vegas this year i was told that all combo"s and bank shots should be called. The way i took it was you need to clarify your intentions to your opponent but some may interpret the rule as differant such as in this scenario. You have correcly called the combo and you made a good hit on your ball we don"t know if you hit rail but you pocketed the two ball that was your "intent". Their was no foul because of a good hit and you pocketed the called ball you should continue shooting.

The reason you were told this was not so that you had to call the shot itself, but the intended ball and pocket, same goes with banks/kicks. Very, very often players will not call each and every ball and pocket, because they are quite obvious as to which ball is going to which intended pocket...however, there are those occasions when the intended ball may be obvious, but perhaps it can be cut to either pocket, depending on the desired CB position desired after the shot is made...in these cases, the ball and pocket should be indicated.

Myself....I have just gotten into the habit of calling just about every single intended ball and pocket...leaves no room for my opponent to file a grievance...it was all clear from the get-go. You would be surprised as to how many hinky shots I have had to deal with from opponents who refuse to indicate ball and pocket, and then cheat a shot in, and act like they meant to do that.

Actually, the last time i played a money shoot, I had just exactly that happen. I knew the guy was making some hinky shots...but when he got on the 8, it was NOT an obvious shot...either a very difficult cut past my last ball to the corner, or as most assumed, a bank to the cross-corner. I asked the player 3x where the shot was going...and was ignored. I finally walked right up to the rail, and asked again, where is the intended pocket? His response to me was, quite rudely, "whatever pocket it drops in, I don't have to tell you!" At which point, the TD explained to my opponent that he was not playing 9 Ball...indicate the pocket. He missed the shot and screamed at me that I had no clue as to how to play pool, blah, blah, blah. LoL!!

The responses as to how to handle combo's and banks/kicks above, are true and correct. Technically, in BCA/Vegas 8 Ball, every intended ball and pocket should be called...no more, no less. How it gets there does not matter, as long the definition of a legal hit is made.

Lisa <=====plays wayyyyy too much 8 Ball. :D
 
Back
Top