BCA 8ball rules question.

eastcoast_chris

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
This came up last week;

Player is shooting his ball. Plays the shot and makes the ball as called, but in the process knock one of his own ball into a pocket with his arm. (accident). It didn't/wouldn't have affected the shot in any way.

Is this a foul?

We ruled it was a foul, but the ball stayed down. Incoming player was awarded ball-in-hand.

We don't "spot" balls in BCA 8ball rules, so that wasn't an option, was it? And returning it to its previous location didn't makes sense because it was off the table... and in a bar table situation it would be inside... once again, no spotting in BCA rules (other than an 8 off the break)
 
If the match is not officiated then it is cue ball fouls only.
In this case, no foul and ball is replaced.

randyg
 
I have had this situation happen in Nationals. The ball is to be replaced and shooter continues shooting. Hope that helps
 
If the match is not officiated then it is cue ball fouls only.
In this case, no foul and ball is replaced.

randyg

BCA 1-33
If the disturbed ball has an effect on the outcome of the shot, then it is a foul.

To answer OP's question, if the ball in question has no effect on the outcome of the shot, then it is not a foul, your opponent, however, has the option of restoring the ball to its previous location, or leave as is.
 
Back
Top