BCA rule 4.8: 8-Ball Pocketed on the Break

Cuebacca

________
Silver Member
From WPA Standardized Rules:

4.8 8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK
If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a rerack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the head string.


My question is, if the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, and if the incoming player chooses a rerack, who gets to break? It does not make it clear to me if the original breaker rebreaks, or if the incoming player gets to break. In my opinion, the incoming player should get the option to break in this situation, but I'm not sure if I can conclude that from the rule.
 
You got it.

Cuebacca said:
From WPA Standardized Rules:

4.8 8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK
If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a rerack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the head string.


My question is, if the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, and if the incoming player chooses a rerack, who gets to break? It does not make it clear to me if the original breaker rebreaks, or if the incoming player gets to break. In my opinion, the incoming player should get the option to break in this situation, but I'm not sure if I can conclude that from the rule.
The fact that he's the incoming player tells you. It's his turn to shoot so if he requests a rerack, he gets to break.

Brian in VA - just took the referee's test in ACS :)
 
Brian in VA said:
The fact that he's the incoming player tells you. It's his turn to shoot so if he requests a rerack, he gets to break.

Brian in VA - just took the referee's test in ACS :)

Excellent! Thanks, Brian! :)
 
As long as I have played 8 Ball

Cuebacca said:
From WPA Standardized Rules:

4.8 8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK
If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a rerack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the head string.


My question is, if the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, and if the incoming player chooses a rerack, who gets to break? It does not make it clear to me if the original breaker rebreaks, or if the incoming player gets to break. In my opinion, the incoming player should get the option to break in this situation, but I'm not sure if I can conclude that from the rule.
A 8 on the break was and is a win! and a scratch on the 8 was and is a loss! This is a BCA rule that makes no sense to me! :confused:
 
Cuebacca said:
From WPA Standardized Rules:

4.8 8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK
If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a rerack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the head string.


My question is, if the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, and if the incoming player chooses a rerack, who gets to break? It does not make it clear to me if the original breaker rebreaks, or if the incoming player gets to break. In my opinion, the incoming player should get the option to break in this situation, but I'm not sure if I can conclude that from the rule.

A scratch on the break is a foul which means that the player who broke the rack immediately loses his turn at the table.

As mentioned in the rules above, your opponent now "has the option of a rerack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the head string."
 
Hmmm...I say leave it alone

MrLucky said:
A 8 on the break was and is a win! and a scratch on the 8 was and is a loss! This is a BCA rule that makes no sense to me! :confused:

The BCA and ACS rules are based on World Standardized rules.

I humbly disagree with your notion that you should be able to win or lose on the opening break. Other than nine ball...what pool game can you even win by only making one ball on the opening break?

Eight ball by its very nature is a more controlled game than nine ball. Although many do play it fast and loose...the best players don't. It is a game meant to be decided by players pocketing/not pocketing balls...that's why splashing the eight ball is not a win.
 
Back
Top