BCA rule clarification.

Mr. Wiggles

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
BCA eight ball. Player A shoots his stripe and moves player B's solid with his hand/stick after contact? Stripes roll around and stripe ball comes back and runs into same solid accidentally moved. How could you ever decide where all these colliding balls would end up and be possibly put back? I say BIH. Too much stuff stuff has been changed. Thanks.
 
If I remember the wording correctly, it's a foul due to path interference. If any ball that gets moving from a legal hit, which then collides with a ball that was moved by accidental contact it is a foul.
 
BCA eight ball. Player A shoots his stripe and moves player B's solid with his hand/stick after contact? Stripes roll around and stripe ball comes back and runs into same solid accidentally moved. How could you ever decide where all these colliding balls would end up and be possibly put back? I say BIH. Too much stuff stuff has been changed. Thanks.

Nothing has changed. Foul.
randyg
 
It's not known where the ball in motion would have landed without the collision, so the balls cannot be restored and are left where they are.
 
Under BCAPL rules, it is BIH and the balls are not restored.

Here is the rule (from rule 1.33 - Disturbed Balls cue ball fouls only):

7. It is a foul if:

a. you disturb the cue ball

b. you disturb more than one object ball;

c. a disturbed ball contacts any other ball;

d. you disturb a ball that is in motion.

Your opponent has no restoration option.

From the way I read the complete rule, the restoration option only maybe comes into play in certain situations if there was no effect on the outcome of the shot. But clearly the situation you described is specified in the above quote, and there is no option to restore the balls.

Your instincts are correct, Mr. Wiggles.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top