BCA Rule Question: last ball and 8-ball pocketted

crosseyedjoe

Anywhere but here
Silver Member
I'm reading the BCA rule on 8-ball, but it wasn't clear about legally pocketing the last ball of the group and caroming to the 8-ball and making it too.

What's the rule? I've heard some people say that if the 8-ball sinks first then it's a foul, but if the last ball of the group falls in before the 8-ball, it's a legal shot.
 
crosseyedjoe said:
I'm reading the BCA rule on 8-ball, but it wasn't clear about legally pocketing the last ball of the group and caroming to the 8-ball and making it too.

What's the rule? I've heard some people say that if the 8-ball sinks first then it's a foul, but if the last ball of the group falls in before the 8-ball, it's a legal shot.
Well, among other rules, you are permitted to call only one ball at a time. If you pocket the eight ball when it is not called, you lose. And you can't call the eight ball until you are playing it. Here are the pertinent rules from the new set:

3.6 Shots Required to Be Called
On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter?s group has been cleared from the table. The shooter may call ?safety? in which case play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot and any object ball pocketed on the safety remains pocketed. (See 8.17 Safety Shot.)
...
3.8 Losing the Rack
The shooter loses if he (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball; (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared; (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or ...

 
APA has the same rule. After you pocket all of the balls in your group the 8 ball has to be pocketed as a separate shot.
 
Back
Top