I am new to BCA this season. I took the time to read over the rules and feel like I have a good understanding. One particular subject isn't completely clear to me. On one hand the penatly seems very severe. On the other I am not sure exactly how to interpret the rules.
The rule in question is placing your hand in a pocket. Here is the rules for reference:
http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook.aspx
Placing hand in pocket:
It is a deliberate foul if you catch any ball that is
falling into a pocket, or place your hand into a pocket while any ball in
play is in motion near that pocket. (AR p. 91)
First violation of (d): if the cue ball, ball in hand. If an object ball, your
opponent may have the ball placed along the lip of the pocket, pocketed,
or left in position. However, it is loss of game if the ball involved is the
game winning ball. (8-Ball exception for first violation: if the 8-ball is
involved and it is the break shot, it is not loss of game).
So this is only BIH if it is the cue ball going towards the pocket? If it is any other ball it is spotted in front of the pocket with no BIH?
From a etiquette standpoint I am unsure how to handle this situation. BCA considers this a 'Deliberate Foul'. First time is a warning and second time is loss of game. So here is why I struggle with this rule. If somebody puts a hand in the pocket but the ball clearly doesn't touch them. In most cases a person does this when they think the cue ball is going to scratch. So it would be BIH. Is it nitty for me to take the BIH? Since this is considered a 'Deliberate Foul' it should be my responsibility to warn my opponent, but as soon as I warn them I would also need to take the BIH.
The rule in question is placing your hand in a pocket. Here is the rules for reference:
http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook.aspx
Placing hand in pocket:
It is a deliberate foul if you catch any ball that is
falling into a pocket, or place your hand into a pocket while any ball in
play is in motion near that pocket. (AR p. 91)
First violation of (d): if the cue ball, ball in hand. If an object ball, your
opponent may have the ball placed along the lip of the pocket, pocketed,
or left in position. However, it is loss of game if the ball involved is the
game winning ball. (8-Ball exception for first violation: if the 8-ball is
involved and it is the break shot, it is not loss of game).
So this is only BIH if it is the cue ball going towards the pocket? If it is any other ball it is spotted in front of the pocket with no BIH?
From a etiquette standpoint I am unsure how to handle this situation. BCA considers this a 'Deliberate Foul'. First time is a warning and second time is loss of game. So here is why I struggle with this rule. If somebody puts a hand in the pocket but the ball clearly doesn't touch them. In most cases a person does this when they think the cue ball is going to scratch. So it would be BIH. Is it nitty for me to take the BIH? Since this is considered a 'Deliberate Foul' it should be my responsibility to warn my opponent, but as soon as I warn them I would also need to take the BIH.
Last edited: